Being Aware of the New Environment

--

After watching the introduction video for Google’s Awareness API, I had to do a couple of things. I had to read up on API. Let’s just say that I’ll probably not be jumping into a developer role anytime soon. Then, I had to read up on awareness technology. Finally, I tried to absorb the impact this will have on my life, as a user who doesn’t always care on how the sausage is made.

API?

First, for those who don’t know what an API is, it is a developer format used for creating interactive software. In this case, it is what developers use for creating apps for specific mobile devices.

Contextual Awareness

My understanding is that Awareness API works by leveraging the current sensory utilities of devices and gives the apps contextual smarts, allowing them “to easily make use of seven types of contextual data”. It can also manage system resources on its own to minimize its impact on devices. Prior to its release much of the work the Awareness API did had to be programmed manually. “Now it’s as easy as plugging the API into an app to get all the benefits of contextual awareness.”

The Awareness API team provided interesting scenarios in the presentation, giving value to this new technology. They mentioned automated connectivity to adjacent devices when its useful, smart apps that know your activity, and improvements to how we use wearables and in-vehicle tech.

Life with Contextual Awareness

Awareness API has been available for about a year now, and based on how easy it seems to be to use, expect an avalanche of new apps and updates.

What it means for me on the surface is that my phone apps will know the where I am and what I am doing. Most imprtantly to business, they will know when I am near a favorite retailer during a sale, or that I enjoy reading my news at 3 pm. Or, that I may be interested in that rental home I’m walking by. But, from a larger perspective, it means that our devices and apps are requiring less of my direct attention, and will offer a more streamline and useful experience.

The idea of an augmented or enhanced reality, where devices and hardware provide the user an enhanced experience with physical surroundings, also seems more real (practical) today than it did last year. As mentioned in 5 reasons Augmented Reality will be a future battleground,“Facebook is working on AR smart glasses to harness the power of Augmented Reality into its platform.” And, with easy-to-develop contextual awareness, the UX in regard to devices such as these, and the surroundings, seems much more user-friendly than before (and just plain practical).

The big deal?

The salient point is that, although contextual awareness preceded Awareness API, the sky is now the limit and contextual awareness development has simplified to the point where it is plausible that all apps can be retrofitted, and even older phones will be able to take advantage of the benefits.

--

--