Cognitive app experiences

Simon Lee
Futures, Entrepreneurship and AI
3 min readSep 6, 2017

1. Siftr Magic — Clean and Share

When you experience problems like a phone becoming slow, battery draining faster, not having enough space, or having a lot of duplicate photos on the phone, this app definitely helps solve them. Siftr automatically finds junk photos and optimizes a phone.

2. Spotify

Spotify is a digital music streaming app that provides millions of songs, podcasts, and videos from all over the world. By a simple sign-up, a user can access, select, and customize songs depending on preference. The most fascinating thing to me is that Spotify recommends artists, albums, and songs based on songs that I listen to.

3. Clova

Clova is an AI-powered voice (in Korean language) assistant app launched by Naver. Like other voice-control apps such as Siri and Google Now, it answers to your questions and assists your tasks including texting message, scheduling, searching info, etc. The reason I picked Clova is that it has some useful features to me like translating languages and free talking in English. It also sings for me. :)

4. Go (AI Game app)

Go game is an abstract strategy board game for 2 players like chess. The game was invented in ancient China more than 2,500 years ago. I guess this is the oldest board game that requires tactical strategy in the world. The reason I picked this game app is not about fantastic or awesome features of AI. It is because a few months ago, AlphaGo which is a narrow AI computer program by Google DeepMind beat a no.1 world champion. This alludes that reasoning of AI might better than human in the future.

Article: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/05/23/business/google-deepmind-alphago-go-champion-defeat.html

Favorite & Personal Brand Experience –

I have not visited IKEA stores many times, but my first impression on the brand was pretty good. I went to an IKEA store in Round Rock, TX to purchase some furniture. When I entered into the store, I was not sure how to shop since the interior system and design were a bit different from other brand stores. It was like finding a right path in a maze. However, there were clear signs, directions, and maps for customers to find where they are. I personally tend to look around all of a store when shopping so I do not miss something, and the IKEA store was designed to show as many products as possible if a customer follows the direction. Rather than using a shopping cart, I picked a shopping list paper and filled out what I wanted to buy with name, article number, and price. I did not need to memorize all of it, I just gave the paper to a casher and then, they delivered items to my front door. Not only the interior design with a specific aim, but also simple directions in the store helped me to finish my shopping with great satisfaction.

--

--