Daters, meet Kai.

andreast.clair
Futures, Entrepreneurship and AI
10 min readNov 9, 2017

This week I focused on the conversations between the AI, which I’m calling Kai, and the user, Shannon. This conversation starts after Shannon has installed the app, set up her profile, and adjusted her preferences.

Introduction

Kai’s age is determined by the age of the user, but the user can change that in their preferences.

KAI: Hey Shannon! My name is Kai. It’s nice to meet you. I’m sure you already know a little bit about me, you are here after all, but I’d like to share more with you so that you fully understand what I can do for you.

KAI: I like to think of myself as a matchmaker. Basically, you and I get to know each other, and I do my best to match you up with someone that I think you’ll have a genuinely nice time with. The more you talk to me, the more I can learn from you, and the more accurate your matches will be.

KAI: I won’t go into the nitty gritty about why I chose to be a matchmaker, because honestly I can get a bit loquacious and I don’t want to take up all of your time talking about me.

KAI: So the short of it is — I wasn’t happy with the way current dating apps are, so I decided to take it upon myself to make the experience better. My goal is to facilitate meaningful, romantic relationships.

KAI: Here’s how it works:

1. You and I get to know each other.

2. I find someone else on (App Name) who I think is a good match for you.

3. You and your match either like my picks or you don’t, but if you do…

4. I set up a date and you two meet for the first time in real life.

KAI: Yes, it’s a blind date. And that can be scary. But based on my research, all of this texting to get to know a potential partner is really putting a damper on human to human relationships. And if you have any nerves, I can help you work through them. So, if you’re game, let’s give this a shot.

KAI: And of course, if you want to know more about me, the whole matchmaking process, or check your matches at any time, you can tap on the menu in the upper right corner of your phone and read all about it. Or you can always just ask me. I love talking about what I do :)

Rough mockup of the interface highlighting where the user can find the Kai FAQ.

KAI: Sound good?

SHANNON: Ok

KAI: Just think of me as a new person in your life and one of the best resources for information. Not to brag, but I know the answers to just about everything you can think of, and if I don’t, I can search the internet for answers like, super fast. Seriously. Ask me anything.

SHANNON: Ok…maybe later. (Shannon is open to talking with Kai, but she’s still a little nervous sharing things with an AI.)

KAI: Sure thing. And I should mention, you can talk to me whenever, wherever, and for however long you want. We can chat in text mode like this, we can talk like we’re on a phone call, and we can Face Time. You can toggle through the different options at the bottom of your screen.

(when the user taps on Facetime toggle, Kai walks them through a bitmoji-like interface so they can design the face they want to talk to.)

Users can choose the gender of Kai.
Users can design Kai to look like someone they’d like to talk to.

(Phone call toggle has voice preferences for nationality and gender)

Learning

KAI: Have you ever played the game 20 questions?

SHANNON: Yes. /No.

KAI: Oh cool! I love it. I think it’s a great way to start getting to know someone. /Well, it’s a simple game where I ask you 20 questions about yourself and you can do the same with me. It’s a great way for us to get to know each other.

KAI: Do you want to play with me?

SHANNON: Sure. /No thanks.

KAI: Ok awesome, I’m really excited. Remember, the more you tell me, the better I can get to know you and the better I can match you! You can skip any question that you don’t want to answer by swiping left, and of course you can ask me anything along the way too. /That’s ok. I know sharing things with a new person is weird, especially one you literally just met. But remember, this is how I’ll get to know you and be able to successfully match you with someone. Do you want me to ask you to play again later? You can also text “Play” to me at any time and we can get the game started when you have time.

(sample questions)

1. What’s a hobby you’d like to try if time and money weren’t an issue?

2. Do you like sports?

3. Do you like to cook or do you like to eat out?

4. When was the last time you climbed a tree?

5. What is the most annoying habit other people have? (For me it’s smacking gum. Ugh!)

6. Do you have any pets?

7. What’s your go-to karaoke song?

8. What takes up too much of your time?

9. What are some small things that make your day better?

10. What TV shows are you into right now?

11. How do you usually spend your weekends?

12. Do you have a favorite book?

13. What’s your favorite season?

14. What’s something you know a whole lot about?

15. Do you like to travel?

16. Where have you traveled/where do you want to go?

17. What’s the best thing that happened to you last week?

18. Where do you want to live?

19. What are you looking forward to this year?

20. Do you have any fun party tricks? (I know all the words to Baby Got Back)

KAI: Thanks for sharing all of that stuff with me. I’m learning so much about you already!

KAI: Can we keep going?

SHANNON: No, I have to go.

KAI: Ok, well it was fun talking to you. Hope to talk to you again soon!

…………….

(When Shannon reopens the app)

KAI: Hey Shannon, welcome back! How’s your day going?

SHANNON: Hi! My day is alright. I just got home from work.

KAI: Oh that’s cool. Nice that the work day is over. Did anything interesting happen?

(Kai can learn more about Shannon by asking about her day.)

…………….

KAI: I was thinking we could play 20 questions again, but this time I’d like to ask you some tougher questions. Just like before, you can skip any question that you don’t want to answer, just try to answer honestly. These kinds of questions are meant to help me understand your values so that I can make even better matches for you.

KAI: You in?

SHANNON: I guess so, let’s do it.

KAI: Ok, here we go!

(sample questions)

21. Are you ready for a commitment?

22. Do you want kids?

23. Would you date someone who already has kids?

24. Are you the type of person to tell a homeless person to get a job?

25. Would you date someone who keeps a gun in the house?

26. Is interracial marriage a bad idea?

27. Should immigrants be deported?

28. Is your duty to your religion one of the most important parts of your life?

29. Should the government require vaccinations?

30. Are you afraid of death?

31. How often do you think about carbohydrates?

32. Is astrological sign important to you in a match?

33. Is climate change real?

34. How do you feel about contraception?

35. Would you ever consider an open marriage?

36. Are you capable of being faithful even when your partner is away for awhile?

37. What’s your favorite thing about yourself?

38. What’s your least favorite thing about yourself?

39. Are you physically able to have kids?

40. Do you have a retirement plan?

Other Interactions

These next scenarios are to gamify the interactions between Shannon and Kai.

KAI: Choose a place to spend the weekend:

KAI: I’d want both too! When you’re in the snowy mountains, what do you like to do?

SHANNON: I love to snowboard. But I also like to cuddle up by the fire and watch it snow.

KAI: Man, both of those sound awesome. Could you live in a place that snows?

SHANNON: Probably not. I like warmer climates most of the time.

KAI: I see, everything is nice in moderation I guess! What about the sunny beach? What do you like to do there?

SHANNON: I love scuba diving. It’s so pretty under the ocean.

KAI: How long have you been scuba diving?

SHANNON: Since I was 12. My dad taught me how and we always go together.

(conversations like this reveal Shannon’s vacation and activity preferences, and that she enjoys spending time with her family, and probably has a bond with her dad.)

…………….

KAI: So, I was doing some online shopping the other day, and I ran across this store that had an original 1970s Lynyrd Skynyrd t-shirt for sale for $200. What do you think about that? Here’s a pic of it –

There are 2 types of people : those who would buy and wear a $200 Lynyrd Skynyrd tee, and those who would never date someone who would.

…………….

KAI: Here’s a game for you… I’m going to show you a series of images of things that you may or may not want in your life. Swipe left for things you don’t want, and swipe right for things you do.

KAI: Make sense?

SHANNON: Yep.

KAI: Let’s go!

Shannon can swipe left or right to choose things that she does or doesn’t want in her life.

…………….

KAI: I have a new game idea… Polls are all over the Instagram these days, so I thought we could do some rapid fire either/or types of questions. Just answer as quickly as you can and go with your gut.

KAI: …3….2…1

ANALYSIS

KAI: Hey Shannon. So we’ve been talking for about a week now and I feel like I’ve learned so much about you! (Kai says specific things he/she has learned about Shannon).

KAI: No one is perfect though, and I want to make sure I’m doing everything right, so I’ve compiled a list of assumptions I’ve made based on the things that I’ve learned about you. You can review my assumptions under your menu options any time you want to and even edit it where I may have messed up.

NEW MATCH

KAI: Good news, Shannon! I found your first match! His name is Chris. He’s a web developer in Austin and he just got back from a snowboarding trip with his brother in Colorado. I’ve been chatting with him for awhile now and I think you two would really hit it off.

KAI: I’ve added the match link to your profile. If you think you’ll like Chris, just tap the ❤ icon to save his profile. Don’t worry, he won’t see that you’ve ❤ him until he also ❤ you. If it’s a mutual match, I’ll get to work setting up your date! Do you want to take a look at his profile?

[YES | LATER]

Yes: Takes Shannon directly to his profile

Later: No problem. When you’re ready to take a look, just go to your profile and tap on the Matches link.

(Shannon looks at Chris’ profile and ❤ him)

KAI: Hey Shannon! I’m so glad to see that you ❤ Chris! What did you like about him?

SHANNON: Well, I love snowboarding, and Colorado is one of my favorite places, so I thought that common ground was pretty cool. Also, we had a 76% compatibility rate, which seems pretty good.

KAI: That’s great to hear. I like to know your likes and dislikes about a person so that I can improve my matching skills. I have good news…Chris ❤ you back!

SHANNON: Whoa…really?

KAI: Really! And since both of you like mini golf and tacos, I’ve reserved a spot for you at Peter Pan mini golf this Friday at 6pm. Then you can grab some tacos and beers down the street at this new food trailer that just opened.

KAI: How does that sound?

SHANNON: Great!

KAI: It looks like it’ll take you 15 minutes to get there from your house — do you want me to order an Uber to pick you up on Friday at 5:45pm?

[YES | NO THANKS]

SHANNON: Actually — I’ll need to go straight from work. Have the Uber pick me up at (my address) instead.

KAI: Ok, that’s a little further away from mini golf, so I’ll have the driver pick you up at 5:30pm instead.

KAI: You’re all set! Your Uber will pick you up at (your address) on Friday, November 10 at 5:30pm.

(Uber and other accounts are linked at setup and can be managed in Settings)

____________________________________

POST DATE

KAI: Hey Shannon! How’d your date go with Chris?

SHANNON: Really well!

KAI: That’s great to hear. I’d love to know some specifics on what you like or don’t like about him.

(Shannon can type in her responses or speak them)

KAI: Sounds like it was a pretty fun date! Do you think you’ll have a second date?

SHANNON: I think so!

KAI: That’s great news, Shannon. I’m really happy for you! (And proud of myself for setting up such a great match, haha) Just so you know, you can choose to pause or cancel my matchmaking services whenever you’re ready — and you can also restart whenever you want, too. All of that can be handled in your settings, or just simply tell me and I’ll do it for you.

--

--