Final Project

Matt Himes
Futures, Entrepreneurship and AI
3 min readDec 18, 2017

After a fun semester and a lot of hard work, I’m proud to present my final concept deck for SALUS: The AI Guide for volunteer disaster relief:

Link to UI animation: https://youtu.be/ee5q_AWfn9k
The animation is also on the TRACS dropbox.

Final Thoughts

This class was an interesting and challenging experience because design thinking for AI was something entirely new. We’ve all thought about how useful AI could be in our lives, but really trying to come up with an idea that could take advantage of AI in a meaningful way was easier said than done. My goal with SALUS was to try and use AI to solve an immediate and relevant problem. To this end, I think SALUS as a concept has merit, but would need a lot of development and thinking through potential problems before it could really be useful to people in a disaster zone. As several of the IBM team members mentioned, the immediacy and urgency of the situation would present many challenges that the design would need to overcome, but I think those are challenges worth solving, and I wouldn’t be surprised to see an app with a similar concept come to reality in the future. If I could do it all over again, I might try an idea that stretched the envelope further than SALUS was able to, that wasn’t app based, and used a medium like wearables, holograms, robots, etc. I think there was an opportunity to really think outside the box, but most of us ended up with some type of app because that is what were were familiar with. If i were to take this class again, I would try to do something much more unconventional. That said, I enjoyed the class quite a bit and would recommend it to any students interested in something different that the typical studio class. Thanks to everyone for a great semester.

--

--