UX Design: Project 1 Idea

Deborah Camp
Futures, Entrepreneurship and AI
2 min readSep 14, 2016

I want women to feel safe when they are walking alone in dark secluded areas.

Recently, I was walking through a dark parking lot late at night. As soon as I realized that if something were to happen to me, there would be nobody around to help me or even notice. I was holding my phone in my hand, and I decided to call my best friend on the phone. This way, if someone attacked me, at least one person in the world would know that something had gone astray. He didn’t answer. So, I continued to walk and made it to my destination safely. It seems crazy to say that I was lucky, but 1 in 3 women experience sexual assault in their lifetimes and 1 in 5 will be raped. According to The Nation, there is a reported rape every 6.2 minutes in America. (source) This is a problem that is widely overlooked.

I’m not currently proposing any solutions to this problem, as I don’t want to narrow my thought process.

Below is the value proposition canvas for the customer segment I’m calling “young women”.

--

--