It’s time for designers to think about humans first, users second

glennette clark
UXCamp Download
2 min readSep 15, 2020

--

I’ve been thinking about the intersection of design, ethics, and inclusion. My thinking has led me to the conclusion that people practicing the craft of design should be more considerate of the humans they’re designing and follow a Code of Ethics.

We must design more responsibly and consider the impact our creations will have on humanity. We must think about the consequences of the success or failure of our designs. It is our responsibility to ask “what if.” Most importantly, it’s time to stop dehumanizing people by referring to them as “users.” We should acknowledge and respect that we’re designing for humans with actual and whole lives beyond our product or service.

A designer is first and foremost a human being.”
— Mike Monteiro

Submitted for your approval, or not, is an adaptation from the Declaration of Geneva as guidance for how we should design for humans.

Declaration of Design

AS A MEMBER OF THE DESIGN PROFESSION:

  • I SOLEMNLY PLEDGE to dedicate my life to the service of humanity;
  • THE HEALTH AND WELL-BEING OF HUMANITY will be my first consideration;
  • I WILL RESPECT the autonomy and dignity of the people for whom I design;
  • I WILL MAINTAIN the utmost respect for human life;
  • I WILL NOT PERMIT considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing or any other factor to intervene between my duty and the people I design for;
  • I WILL RESPECT the confidences that are placed with me;
  • I WILL PRACTICE my profession with conscience and dignity and in accordance with good design practices;
  • I WILL FOSTER the honor and noble traditions of the design profession;
  • I WILL GIVE to my colleagues the respect and gratitude that is their due;
  • I WILL SHARE my design knowledge for the benefit and advancement of the other designers and humanity;
  • I WILL ATTEND TO my own health, well-being, and abilities in order to provide design solutions of the highest standard;
  • I WILL NOT USE my design knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;
  • I MAKE THESE PROMISES solemnly, freely and upon my honor.

Calling all designers. Can you make the oath?

--

--

glennette clark
UXCamp Download

human-centered designer // curious soul // creative thinker // Founder @uxcampdc & @uxcampnyc // editor, UXCamp Download