Spreading the Dream of Indonesian Future Leader : Case Study “KejarMimpi”

sarah aufa dhita
uxmarker
Published in
5 min readNov 8, 2017

The reasons why i full Spreading the Dream of Indonesian Future Leader : Case Study “KejarMimpi” in-touch designing Kejarmimpi is because of myself.

It is intimate.

It is the story of i personally, chasing my dream.

I was raised in the rural mountain area of Java, Indonesia. I studied at public high school in the place that wasn’t familiar to the people, even in my region. It was nowhere. My girlfriends were pregnant in the middle of year school. My boyfriends brawled, made a huge riot in society. Day to day in school once were dull.

I myself, a book-worm. I’ve read newspaper since 6 and started to widen my perspective. I’ve had a big dream in life. Alone. I was contrast-type-of-guy. I thought i live in a red-zone. I began to be introverted then.

Until one day, my English teacher came forward and kept telling me tremendous story of achieving dream by visualization. I activated my right-brain every time. I spoke to myself,

“Dear me, go ahead. Live your dream. You are able to enter your dream university. You are able to accomplish your future”

Today i am living my dream that i build previous years late.

I fought. Alone.

KejarMimpi

My favorite multitalented and brilliant minded artist, Maudy Ayunda builds a Kejarmimpi social movement for Indonesian youngster to be a dreamer, to share their ideas in one platform, and connect themselves with other peoples who own the same goal, to collaborate. The vision is real, to empower Indonesia youth to be brave themselves in chase their ambition, for the better country.

7 from 10 productive peoples give up on their ambition because they don’t know how to achieve it. They draw their future but clueless, what stage they should take. Kejarmimpi movement believe, those who share their dreams would easily reach it when they find other who dream the same. Their dreams would getting closer, because they fight for it together. They share what to do each other and lift themselves up.

Pre Development Phase

About KejarMimpi

I and my team divide the stage of design into categories; pre-development phase, development and post.

The pre-development is about identifying the whole naked product and doing user research.

We did user survey, the easiest method to validate product problems, even efficient in its time with accurate data.

We surveyed 16 respondents with age range 15 to 25 years old, the people who were constructed to be Indonesia future leaders with idealism to reach ambitions. Specifically, they were familiar with technology but still inadequated of informations.

We gained points here. First, they were lack of motivation and support system. They couldn’t find it in their main circle. Next, they had no any place to share, they were single-fighter, alike me in the past. Alone. They had minimum information on how to chase step per step of their dream, too. They were baffled. They feared to take any trace to go.

Development Phase : Wireframing, Prototyping, Usability Testing

In this stage, we designed the display structure, layout and framework of the feature we offered. Wireframing were phase of visualizing the simple flow-chart. I myself, used the conventional pencil and paper to make a wireframe to push time and budget.

Prototyping. The most enjoyable phase for me, because i was free to add any interaction to make interface design. Zaki Warfel said, prototyping had these amazing perks; communication and collaboration, gauge feasibility while reducing waste and sell our idea.

The next was usability testing. This stage was tensing. The stomach of ours were shaken when we brought the prototype and gave it away into random users. This test boasted us to gain quantitative and qualitative data of feedback data, to evaluate whether we did decent work or not. We found 5 peoples to be the tester. We earned quantitative data from how many second that user spend to operate the main feature of Kejarmimpi apps. While qualitative data got from the insight, comment on the design practicality. When user operated the apps, we defended the condition to let them think their own way how to go.

Dear my self, your work is not about your portfolio

“Change by design”

Who doesn’t notice this superb quote of Tim Brown? That is simple three words statement. But it’s meaningful. It’s forceful.

This one design project is splashy for me.

I keep say this into myself whatever to-do to complete this work.

“Dear myself, your work is one step contribution to change your nation’s better society. Remind yourself, that every pieces of UI/UX design you build aren’t about your only portfolio, aren’t about your self-pride to be the king of your own soul. You are a part of change. You are take role to create the better Indonesia. To make every young generations plant their big dreams.To assist them reach their goals by connecting the dots”

That’s it. That’s how i, as designer love my country.

Today is the stamp of Indonesian youngster on 1928, spoke and chaired in congress and took an phenomenal oath to hold unity among others.

Muhammad Yamin, Amir Syarifudin, WR Supratman were they.

Today, I myself Sarah Aufa Dhita, my friends; Ervan M Wirawan, Labib Ahmadin, Bregga Tedy, Burhanudin Yusuf, Yudha Kuntoaji, Nabila Nurul, and Novia Nurist Naini are following the path of Supratman and friends, by our way, our passion and our talent.

Happy Youth Day, Fellas :)

uxmarker was founded with one mission mind: creating the best and most reliable user-centered design for our clients. Here in our HQ, we deal with a wide range of design avenues on every product platform. To ensure a satisfying product experience, our dedicated team generate data from curated user research methods and analyze them to find and fix various design obstacles. With our ingenious ideas and tested skill, we believe we can help make your products a pleasure to work with.

Keep in touch with us :

LinkedIn| Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Dribbble | Contact Us

To help spread the word about uxmarker, please click recommend, or share this story! See you next week everyone.

--

--