POETRY

Confession (Vallomás)

a dactylic verse translation

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
Vagabond Voices
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

My life, a lonely isle.
Each day I fall on two
knees, I do. I care for
nothing else but for you.
The sun may lose its warmth,
the moon may cease to shine,
swept up and molten by
this vibrant afterlife.
Ambrosial fragrances,
curious radiance
emanates. It commands
joy and obedience.
Elsewhere time may be marked
by ticking clocks’ repeat,
here, years are measured by
the pangs of your heartbeat
and as you utter each
delicate, distant phrase
they’ll turn to flowers of
silver on azure lace,
your heaving sighs, the wind
ruffle my locks undone
your semblance is the moon
your semblance is the sun.

Don’t be fooled, this is no mere declaration of love. Or if it is, then it is for the love of language. The building block is the

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
Vagabond Voices

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"