Refracted Bodies

Trisha Traughber
Vagabond Voices
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2020
Photo by the author: Young humans immersed in an art exhibit 2019.

Transforming
the human essence
into a body and before our eyes undressing
mystery, breaking down,
death slips away.

A word about this poem and the book that inspired it…

This month, the book club and writing community I run is reading Flights by Olga Tokarczuk. And since I find the language (and subject matter) to be incredibly poetic and beautiful, I’ve decided to immerse myself further in the way the sentences, images, and words fit together by transforming memorable lines from the book into tiny poems.

In this case, I’ve chosen to take a passage from the book (a few lines, a short-ish paragraph) and transform it into a tritriplicata: simply a poem with the a first line that has 3 syllables, then 6 syllables, then 9, 6, 3… Thanks to Arjan Tupan for the idea for this experimental new form.

I took the liberty of condensing the lines down to the words that caught my eye, the feeling I wanted to convey…I snipped away characters, bits of story and, in this way found this poem and this rhythm.

More experiments to follow…

If you decide to give it a try, let me know, tag me in, or share your experiments here at Vagabond Voices.

Thanks for reading,

© Trisha Traughber 2020 — Thanks for reading.

--

--

Trisha Traughber
Vagabond Voices

Immigrant, bilingual, mother, teacher, book-worm, writer. Life is better when we create - together.