the newest food truck in my town features the mailman eating a granola bar

Josh Spilker
Vaguely Feel
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2016

--

  1. was re-reading my tweet book, PLS ADVISE and i saw this tweet

2. seemed appropriate to write about this because I just wrote about mail and you’re supposed to build upon your past ‘successes’ or something

3. also, approximately 2–4 years ago i was very ‘into’ food truck trends and fashions because I wrote a novel about food trucks, specifically someone who thinks God wants them to open a food truck, it’s called Taco Jehovah and I’m probably talking to the person helping me edit it today

4. that novel was supposed to come out in 2k15, but it didn’t because BLAH BLAH BLAH WE ALL HAVE PROBS DON’T WE?

5. food trucks are also top of mind again, because my coworker keeps saying there needs to be street with all food trucks and I mention a street with all food trucks and she says “no, the cool food trucks” because the street I mentioned just has taco trucks

6. my neighbor at my old house opened a cool taco truck

7. i’ll probably have him “cater” my book release party, if and when the book comes out; and, if and when i have a party

8. i really did see a mailman eating a granola bar while delivering mail

9. what are the preferred snacks of mail persons while doing their job?

10. are convenience stores and gas stations their favorite “stops” because they get to go inside and deliver it and say “oh, sure i’ll have that slurpee”

11. that’s what i would do if i were a mail person

12. i would also buy a yeti cup because and pour my slurpee into it, because you know it’s a long day and it’s gotta keep ‘cool’

13. speaking of mail persons and keeping cool, who is the ‘coolest’ mail person and what would they do to be cool?

14. please don’t say bukowski to the question above, there’s gotta be somebody cooler than that and more recent, come on ppl aren’t any of you ‘dialed’ into the underground mail scene?

15. please don’t talk about ‘the crying of lot 49’ in response to the point above, you pomo punks — read some new books and start with this one:

If you liked this post, please recommend it!

For more essays like this, follow Vaguely Feel:

--

--