vaguely feel like going to the barbershop for the 1st time in 6 years

Josh Spilker
Vaguely Feel
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2016

--

Last week for the first time in probably 6 years I went to a barbershop.

It seemed like a pretty new place, it was on my way home from work and it was empty.

I don’t like to wait in lines especially for something that I know will take approximately 5 minutes.

It takes no time to cut my hair. Because I’m almost completely bald.

Almost is the key word. I still need a little help.

Usually my wife cuts my hair. About eight or nine years ago we realized how wasteful it was for me to get my hair professionally cut. I started going bald at like 21 and lost all semblance of bangs probably at 27. So it was time to just buzz it every time.

Now my only style option is to ask: should I shave it all off?

I still haven’t done it. The cueball. The exposed scalp. Don’t know if I will or if I can.

One reason I can’t is because of the questions. I hate when people ask if I got a haircut. It’s a self-evident answer. You can tell if I got a haircut or not. You don’t have to ask. Your reasoning powers are sufficient.

But you can’t go back. Just like that Seinfeld episode. Once you go clean shaven, it would be weird to try and grow it back. I once listened to a podcast where someone mentioned that the more confident bald people just shave it off.

I don’t know (maybe my indecision show my lack of confidence?).

But I do wear hats. Sometimes I wear them because I’m conscious of my baldness for some reason (this seems more like the lack of confidence). Other times, because I don’t want to get sunburned (a real thing). Other times, I just like to wear hats. I wore hats before I was completely bald, so I’m not sure what the difference is.

…But the barbershop. She asked me if I wanted to shave it off. Triple Zero, no guard. She said it would be like the stubble on my face. That there would be hair particles left. Usually I go for like a 1/2 guard or something, I think that’s the number, anyway that’s short enough for me.

Triple Zero seemed scary. Like my kids would freak out. Like I would get even more questions (please not more questions). Like I would immediately grow a goatee (completely clean-shaven bald guys love goatees).

No, I told her. I’m not ready for that.

But I’ll see you in six years.

if you like this, click below & give it your heart

I’m Josh Spilker. Join my newsletter and get a free book of tweets…sound good?

--

--