vaguely feel like walking into a hotel

Josh Spilker
Vaguely Feel
Published in
1 min readOct 5, 2016

--

a hotel is across the street from my office. sometimes i go outside, and walk across the street to the hotel. i’ll sit in the lobby for a minute and get a glass of water. the seat i choose is usually an overstuffed one. i’ll check my email and Google Now using their free internet. if there is a USA Today, I will read it for a minute to understand the current temperature of American nothingness.

when I used to work in New Orleans, I would go to the big hotels on Canal St. everyday before work and sit down and read the USA Today there, too. mostly the sports. that was before smartphones, if you can believe it.

the hotel across the street from my office is by a suburban business park, and I’m not sure why anyone would want to stay in a hotel here, unless you were on business. but then i see families carrying luggage and small children into the hotel, and i can think of a million better ways to spend a vacation.

but i’ve also stayed in suburban hotels to visit family or whatever. i am so quick to judge. i am the worst.

if you like this, click below & give it your heart

Josh Spilker is a writer and author from Nashville, TN. >>>>>>>>>Get a free book here.<<<<<<<<<<

--

--