Doomed to Reconfigure: How do I control my laptop fans??

Enrico Valbuena
VAL PUNK
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2018

The other day my ASUS G752VY lap fans were just going absolutely insane. This had happened before and while I generally have my headphones in and have never cared, I’ve recently been recording video of me playing Hellblade to share to some friends.

I went to my device manager and like a fool started updating drivers at random. And it helped… that is after updating a driver and restarting my laptop the fans were off for good. My frames got pretty bad playing Overwatch and I didn’t want that to happen during my Hellblade series. Anyway, after a day and a half of fruitless google searches I came across a nifty tool.

Solution:

This little repo for Notebook FanControl. Once you’ve downloaded, installed, and opened the program, you can click on the ellipses and find your laptop.

From this point on you can setup your fan speed. Currently I have them all maxed out at 100% instead of on auto since whatever driver I messed up can longer be relied upon to auto kick in the fans when the CPU gets too hot. Hope this helps you.

--

--