Choosing to Focus on Progress Over Success

Ashley Nestler, MSW
Validation Vacation
3 min readJul 28, 2023

--

In our fast-paced, production- focused society, we are often stuck in the cycle of aiming for success over failure — without allowing for a middle ground in between. When we focus on such black and white thinking, we only increase our anxiety and lessen the quality of our lives. Unfortunately, when living in a capitalistic society, production and aiming for success above all things is taught to us from the moment we learn to speak.

But we can fight against this.

We can take a step back and focus on our progress, and “little wins” over focusing on only the end of the line or the “big picture”.

The path to success in any area of life or work is not easy. It can be a long road, and often leads to burnout when we feel that we are not given opportunities to celebrate along the way. But progress is with us on our way to success, and it provides us with small victories, or little wins, that are just as important as that ultimate success.

Ever since I graduated high school, I set myself on an extreme path to success. This led to a period of severe burnout and took a drastic hit at my mental health. I planned out my future and the schooling and certifications I wanted to accomplish, as well as the career I would ultimately have, and I did not let myself rest. I went straight into getting my Bachelor of…

--

--