Alumni Spotlight: Dr. Jonathan Jackson

Van ISD
Van ISD Newsroom
Published in
3 min readNov 3, 2020

Jonathan Jackson, PhD, Van High School Class of 2003

A LITTLE BIT ABOUT DR. JACKSON

Jonathan Jackson followed his After High School Comes College dream at Rice University, where he majored in cognitive neuroscience and graduated cum laude in 2007. From there, he continued on to graduate school at Washington University in St. Louis, where he focused on the early detection of Alzheimer’s disease and dementia and received a doctoral degree in psychological and brain sciences in 2014. Dr. Jackson completed two postdoctoral fellowships and then joined the faculty of Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School in the Neurology Department in 2016 where he currently resides as an Assistant Professor. Dr. Jackson says, “It was here that I learned our cutting-edge treatments for Alzheimer’s disease weren’t being made available to everyone. Because so many groups weren’t represented in creating new medicines, not only did that mean that these medicines were less available to underserved populations, it meant that the medicines were less likely to work on these populations in the first place. By “underserved,” I mean racial and ethnic minorities, in addition to women, people without a college degree, and folks who live outside of major cities, too. So I started the CARE Research Center at MGH and Harvard to try and fix some of these issues. I still work on Alzheimer’s disease, but I also work on studies related to chronic pain, diabetes, cancer, precision medicine, and yes, COVID-19 too. New medicines should work for everyone, and I’ve dedicated my life to making sure that happens.”

HOW DID VAN ISD HELP PREPARE YOU FOR YOUR FUTURE?

“My time at VHS helped me hone crucial public speaking and communication skills that I still use every day. During junior year, Mr. Brown’s AP English class completely changed the way I write, pushing me beyond the same old five-paragraph essay and making compelling, creative points. I gained a deep appreciation of math from my trigonometry and calculus courses, which has given me a leg up in managing advanced biostatistics. And of course, extracurriculars like cross-examination debate and drama helped me see the world through the eyes of people who may not have a voice. It is primarily championing this perspective that has led me to the path I follow now.”

WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR CURRENT STUDENTS?

“I went to Van High School during a time when college was not top of mind for many students. But thanks to some great teachers and wonderful friends, I gained confidence and clarity of purpose that wouldn’t otherwise be possible. I’m grateful for my time at VHS and want to stress that if I can end up here, VHS kids can do just about anything.”

Dr. Jonathan Jackson is truly making a positive impact on the world, and we are extremely proud to call him a Vandal.

#WeAreVan #Alumni

PROFESSIONAL BIOGRAPHY

Jonathan Jackson, PhD, is the executive director of the Community Access, Recruitment, and Engagement (CARE) Research Center at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School. CARE investigates the impact of diversity and inclusion on the quality of human subjects research and leverages deep community entrenchment to build trust and overcome barriers to clinical trial participation. His research focuses on midlife and late-life health disparities in clinical settings that affect underserved populations. Dr. Jackson also works as a cognitive neuroscientist, investigating the early detection of Alzheimer’s disease, particularly in the absence of overt memory problems. He has become a well-known representative to underserved communities and dozens of affiliated organizations, particularly regarding clinical research participation. Dr. Jackson serves on the leadership team of several organizations focused on community health and has written guidance for local, statewide, and national groups on research access, engagement, and recruitment.

--

--