COMMUNITY PARTNER SERIES: THE WORTHEN GROUP

Van ISD
Van ISD Newsroom
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2021

Did you know the Van High School CTE program also has off-campus offerings that include internships with community partners so students can get real-world, on-site job experiences in various career paths? To highlight these incredible opportunities, we’ve started a Community Partner Series to feature these businesses and our student’s stories within these valuable internships!

Last month, we featured Southside Bank and Yessi Dragustinovis. This month, our Community Partner Series features The Worthen Group and student intern, Olivia Ayers. Olivia was chosen for their intern program that teaches a wide range of skills necessary to run a multifaceted business. The Worthen Group, which specializes in restaurant management and accounting for multiple major franchises, began their partnership with VHS in 2016 and has had four student interns so far.

Olivia Ayers, current intern for The Worthen Group says, “Through my internship with The Worthen Group, I’ve learned invaluable skills that I never knew I needed. My proficiency with Quickbooks and Excel has tripled since I began; even my typing skills have been honed. I will be forever grateful for the skills I’ve learned, but am most grateful for the growth I’ve experienced as a person. Since working with The Worthen Group, I’ve seen my confidence grow. From my very first day on the job, I received an outpouring of love. I know that every time I walk through the office doors, I’m safe and cared for and that has allowed me to learn, grow, and flourish. I’ve gained many relationships that mean the world to me. I can never express my gratitude to the Worthens, Reynolds, and all of my colleagues at The Worthen Group for this wonderful opportunity.”

Janet Reynolds from The Worthen Group said, “The Van High School Internship Program has been extremely beneficial to The Worthen Group. Hiring high school students as interns have allowed us to focus more on the smaller details of the business. Students like Olivia bring a fresh perspective to the workplace. They have a unique way of solving problems that might not have been thought of before. Because this younger generation is so tech-savvy, we learn as much from them as they do from us.”

Olivia said she had many classes and teachers along the way that helped prepare her for this opportunity. “My classes at VHS taught me how to juggle my personal and professional life. I also learned the unexpected lesson that you can enjoy several different career paths in life. Nursing has been my intended profession for years. If you had asked me a few years ago if I would’ve considered accounting as a professional fit for me, I would’ve said no. However, after this internship, I’m seriously considering an accounting minor in college.” Olivia went on to say, “While I’ve had several teachers that have shaped me, I must say my most influential educator has to be my mom, Mrs. Lou Ann Ayers. Not only have her classes prepared me to enter the medical field with confidence, she’s taught me how to give 110% in everything I do.”

“We are extremely pleased businesses in our community partner with Van ISD CTE through student internships, scholarships, business tours, guest speaking, student mentoring, and numerous other valuable opportunities for our students,” said Karla Rainey, VISD CTE Director. “With The Worthen Group, our students have been able to experience a high caliber internship over the past several years. We are extremely grateful for this mutually beneficial partnership.”

If you are interested in learning more about becoming a VISD CTE Community Partner, contact Karla Rainey at 903–963–8730 x3212 or karla.rainey@vanisd.org.

--

--