Achievement Unlocked: Grouse Grind

Roy⚡Marvelous
Doing All The Things In Vancouver
3 min readAug 19, 2013

--

Yes folks, I recently did the Grouse Grind. 2830 steps, 2800 feet, 2.9 km ascent. Man vs Mountain. Mother Natures Stairmaster. The Everest of British Columbia (okay, I just made that last one up). The point is I can now proudly say that I am indeed a Vancourite. I will be the first one to admit though, that it wasnt easy. Sure, the first 10 mins were a piece of cake. I zipped by everyone ahead of me, smugly congratulating myself at having the speed of a cheetah and prowess of a mountain goat.

At the 15 minute mark, I breezily overtook another hiker and casually inquired if she knew if we were close to the summit. Um, we are almost at the 1/4 mark she replied, sounding mildly irritated at my foolish question.

I arrived at the halfway point 33 minutes in. My throat felt chapped and my body was starting to feel weak. Locals actually do this for fun? I definitely should have brought water and snacks. And possibly worn better shows than my barefoot trainers. If only they had vending machines along the trail. I stopped to pick up a broken branch, and steadied my gait. This would serve as my trusty Staff of Power. You know, like in Lord of the Rings. I hobbled on. What I would have done for a cold beer, right then. My preciousss.

The last half of the hike was a miserable experience. I groaned at each step. My eyesight turned hazy from the sweat pouring down my face. I wasnt even sure if I would make it. I comforted myself that even if I did get hurt, at least I had finally received my health card. I pictured having to be rescued by the North Shore Rescue Team. I hoped they carry snacks. But I soldiered on, fuelled by the promise of beer at the top of the mountain. Precious icy cold beer. I would get a whole pitcher and chug it, taking breaks only to point and laugh defiantly at the mountain below.

Finally, I finished the Grind in a respectable 65 mins. I roared as I took the last step, which in retrospect may have been a little unnecessary. The young family nearby seemed a little perturbed. Nevertheless, I made a beeline to Altitudes Bistro to enjoy a well deserved icy cold beer, in my sweat-drenched tracksuit.

Now I understand why Grouse Grind is rated one of the most dangerous hikes in the world. Its not particularly long but the difficulty is often underestimated, and some hikers (like me) turn up under-prepared. However its very easily accessible by public transport, and its definitely recommended to check it out.

Trail Facts

Length: 2.9 kilometres (1.8 miles) Elevation Gain: 853 metres (2,800 feet) Base: 274 metres above sea level (900 feet) Summit: 1,127 metres (3,700 feet) Total Stairs: 2,830 Statistics: Annually, over 100,000 people hike the trail. Average Time: Up to 1.5 hours. Participants: Hikers range in age from 7 to 90.

Record time: 23:48

Trail Ascent Record (In One Day): 16!

Early mornings on weekends and weekdays are usually less busy. Opening hours depends on weather conditions daylight hours. Generally it opens at 6:15 am from Spring to Fall. Its free to climb the Grouse Grind trail. The gondola down costs $10. You are not allowed to climb down due to safety.

Dont Make The Same Mistakes I Made!

You should train in advance (especially if you arent regularly active) Hydrate well in advance and have a have a proper meal. Bring some water snacks, like energy bars or bananas. Dress in layers and wear proper footwear. Bring a change of shirt and deodorant.

Resources:
http://www.lephysique.com/hiking-the-grouse-grind-10-tips/
http://www.lephysique.com/hiking-grouse-grind-10-tips-2/
http://www.grousemountain.com/grousegrind/faq

Originally published at web-beta.archive.org.

--

--