Bondi Beach / Abnormally hot and long summer of 2016

2 Weeks In Australia Shooting Nothing But Medium Format Film

15 days, 1 camera, 1 lens, 10 rolls of film

Cliff Englert
Vantage
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2016

--

Surfer Blokes / Bronte Beach

When I used to daydream about visiting Australia, I imagined myself traveling with someone special (done) and photographing with a Mamyia 7ii — And here’s why.

Since this was a real vacation (and not a ploy to shoot anything portfolio or work related) my pre-travel mindset was this: I wanted rest & relaxation and quality time with my lady.

SO, months before the trip I made it simple and played “1-camera 1-lens” scenario. I settled on taking my Mamiya 7ii and 80mm f/4 lens. It made my trip that much more enjoyable.

You know what this is / Full moon on a Friday night

Shooting only medium format films provided the type of intimate, localized travel experience I wanted from an international trip without feeling like I was missing great pictures in the process. I wanted to physically and mentally “be there” for everything. All the moments, not messing with gears, settings, data, workflows, battery charging, etc.

Outer Great Barrier Reef / Fish feeding while on snorkeling tour
Lifeguard feeding fish/ Outer Great Barrier Reef

Imagine traveling to another country, for 15 days, with 200 total photos…

Never charging a battery, hooking up cords, no hard drives/memory cards, never looking at a camera LCD, computer screen, and most importantly, no editing.

Bloomfield Track / Friends crossing Emmagen Ck

The 80mm f,4 lens is about the same length as a 40mm lens in 35mm format. To me, this is a great focal length and all around travel lens. The shutter in the lens is practically silent, which I love having when being a tourist.

Bills / Magazines, cocktails, brekkie and coffee

It was a hot tail-end to Australia’s bright and sunny summer. I had to be conscious of the shutter speed limitations, 1/500th being the fastest Mamiya 7ii offers. I didn’t want to be limited during the day with 400iso nor did I want to feel limited after dusk, so I packed lots of 220 Kodak Portra 160iso.

View from Hotel Palisade 1 / Barangaroo Sydney, AUS

Although, I should have packed an ND filter for the high and bright sunny skies, I stuck with slower film and used the 10sec. timer for setting up quick landscape shots without a tripod.

View from Hotel Palisade 2 / Barangaroo Sydney, AUS

There are few cameras that feel as good in the hand as Mamyia 7ii. The portability is surprising, especially when comparing with the alternatives: Pentax’s 67 format or Hasselblad’s smaller 6x6. Focusing is also a dream if you like rangefinders.

Friday evening ferry into Circular Quay / Sydney, AUS

The Mamiya 7ii lived up to my expectations for my first Australia trip.

Original post on my blog with more photos.

--

--

Cliff Englert
Vantage

Morning Person / Science Fiction Lover / Creative & Editorial Consultant / Photographer & Video Producer / @thatcliffguy / San Francisco / www.cliffenglert.com