“A good photographer needs absolute independence.”

Documenting a Different 9/11

In Conversation with Chilean Photojournalist Marcelo Montecino

Ian Wong
Vantage
Published in
4 min readMar 4, 2016

--

For many people around the world, September 11 marks the day of the World Trade Centre attacks in 2001 — a moment that America will undoubtedly never forget. But for the Chilean photojournalist Marcelo Montecino, who has lived in Washington D.C. and Santiago for most of his life, the date has an extra significance — September 11, 1973 was the day the democratically-elected President of Chile Salvador Allende was ousted in a coup d’état sponsored by the CIA, leading to his death later that day and the end of democracy in the country until 1990.

It was also the day that Marcelo decided to take up his camera and become a photojournalist, spending years covering the diversity of Latin America.

Can you give us an overview of your career as a photojournalist?

My photographic career began on September 11, 1973, the day the democratic government of Salvador Allende was overthrown by the military junta headed by Augusto Pinochet. That day it became absolutely clear that I was through with my personal artsy photography and perhaps I could do something with my photographs. I was a photojournalist for only 15 years until 1988.

Guards, National Stadium, Santiago, Sept. 73

You seem to have an infinite amount of material, as you continue to upload in 2015. Throughout your career, is there a single statement you wanted to make? What for example, did you aim to do by focusing on Chile?

Looking back I see two threads in my work. One was the need to denounce human rights violations throughout Latin America.

The other theme is the city of Santiago. I am a Chilean and I hope my images serve to change people. I know that trying to change people is an absurd thing to say. In the final analysis my work is my therapy.

Political Prisoners, Managua, Nicaragua 78

Did you have a preferred lens and camera to work with?

I covered the coup with a Pentax Spotomatic (who really remembers that camera?).

My photojournalist work in Central America List was done with Olympus OM 1 and OM 2s. I also carried a little camera I loved: a Minolta CL.

My street photos of Santiago were done with an old Leica M3. Nothing has ever felt so good in my hands. My preferred focal length is still 35mm.

Murder by Lake Managua, 1979

What was the most significant moment you ever covered?

I have two favorite moments in my career as a photojournalist. The most significant moment I covered was the coup in Chile and its aftermath. In those weeks the most moving moment was the funeral of Pablo Neruda. The funeral became the first protest against Pinochet’s military government.

It was a moment of great sadness, anxiety and defiance.

Funeral Neruda, 1973

The other was the entrance of the triumphant Sandinistas into Managua, Nicaragua in 1979.

I vividly remember the heat, thirst and the joy that sunny afternoon.

Triunfo en Managua, 1979

When did you decide to hang up the camera?

My last big story was the plebiscite in Chile in 1988, which decided whether Pinochet would stay in power for almost one more decade. It was year full of solidarity, fear, and joy.

Peasant militia, Near Chinandega

I’m grateful for those years, however I realized much later that shooting for someone else has hindered my vision. A good photographer needs absolute independence. I also realized that photojournalism is a young man’s game and a very good reason to hang up those heavy cameras.

Warm Welcome, Managua July 20

Be sure to check out Marcelo’s extensive Flickr stream, where he continues to share his extensive library of work.

--

--

Ian Wong
Vantage

Strategy Director @Capsule48, Co-Creator @DigitalDarkroom