My binoculars, er, I mean my QuickTake.

Playing with Apple’s First Digital Camera

Gideon Rosenthal
Vantage
Published in
2 min readNov 3, 2015

--

Well, technically the QuickTake 150 was Apple’s second camera, the first being the QuickTake 100.

Released in 1995, for a whopping $700, this pup stores only 32 pictures at a resolution of 640x480, a mere ~0.3 megapixels.

Turning the camera on and taking pictures was the easy part. After it arrived, some friends came over to my apartment, and I snapped photos of them while we hung out. Each time the shutter clicked and the flash went off I got more excited.

Adam and Jordan

Unfortunately, the original QuickTake software is not compatible with OSX. Therefore, I had to install a Virtual Machine that ran Windows XP and download the software through there. Thanks to this blogpost for providing the link.

When I was finally able to view the pictures, I was surprised that there were a couple still on the device from its previous owner.

Who are these kids? I’m interested to know. If you recognise them, or if you are them, just 20 years older, contact me!

I have no idea who these kids are, so let me know if you recognize any of them! I can only assume this picture was taken in the 1990’s and has been rotting in digital purgatory ever since.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy some of the very grainy pictures I was able to take with my Apple QuickTake 150!

Ant
Jed
Jed holding my polaroid camera, but that’s the topic for another post.

--

--

Gideon Rosenthal
Vantage

Developer | Interest | Sports Team | Other Interest