Notes on Photographs #2: Valik

Reflection upon my time in Ukraine

Christopher Nunn
Vantage

--

Valik lived in a small industrial town in western Ukraine
Valik lived with his mother and grandmother
Valik had a wife and young son
Valik was 33 years old
Valik’s hair was almost entirely grey
Valik had a collection of foreign coins he kept in a jam jar
Valik’s nickname was ‘tomato’
Valik’s history was tattooed on his body
Valik gave me a crucifix necklace, a small glass swan and a picture of a unicorn as a present
Valik never asked for anything from me
Valik believed in God
Valik survived prison and drug addiction
Valik wanted something better for his future
Valik died of brain cancer a few months after this photo was taken

I met Valik in February 2013 whilst walking in the snow through the apartment blocks. I visited him on several occasions that month and spent time with his family. I liked him. Some of his tattoos were very disturbing, but it seemed to me that they were from a part of his life that was long gone. He was, in many ways, a typical neighbourhood ‘zek’, the type that babushkas are scared of and people look at with a sense of shame, but for a brief time I saw another side.

I visited them again in May 2013, and by this time Valik had lost weight and looked sick. Because of the language barrier I wasn’t sure what was wrong, and assumed it was drugs related. Around this time his grandma was always crying, and I remember her hugging me on several occasions. I realised later that she was crying because she knew her grandson way dying. When I returned in November 2013 I learnt about Valik’s fate. I revisited his wife and child several times in February 2014, but lost contact shortly afterwards. This is how I learnt the word ‘cancer’ in Ukrainian.

Chris Nunn is a photographer based in Yorkshire, England. In February 2015, Vantage published Accidentally Photographing the War In Ukraine about Nunn’s years of work in Ukraine.

Follow Chris Nunn on Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook and Instagram.

Follow Vantage on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. If you enjoyed reading this, click “Recommend” below. This will help to share the story with others.

--

--