The Most Important Question a Photographer Can Answer

(Or why you should stop worrying, and always geo-tag your images)

Terry Porter
Vantage
3 min readSep 27, 2015

--

There is one question that every Photographer can answer about their photo. That question is “Where?”

Photographers know where they capture their images. So give your picture a name like “Peaceful Morning” if you want to, but be aware that your viewers would like to know where that bridge/building/waterfall/lighthouse is located.

Search of 500px Photos for “Peaceful Morning” on Flipboard.

We photographers are out and about constantly looking for photo opportunities. When asked how you got that great shot, the truth is probably something like this:

  1. I spent time the day before scouting the location
  2. I figured out where the best light would be.
  3. I decided what gear was needed to capture it.
  4. While everyone else was asleep, I left the house at dark thirty to get to the location at the necessary time.
  5. I lugged the gear I needed to the place where I needed it, in the dark.
  6. I was there when the sun came up.
  7. I didn’t take a couple of images and stop. I tried various angles and perspectives. I kept shooting even when the sun was up.
  8. I hauled the camera gear back to my office, back to my computer.
  9. I spent hours sorting, processing and tagging images.
  10. I shared a few on social media and photo sharing sites.

Sounds easy, right? Ha! It’s about time we’re less coy about our workflows and we’re honest about the hours, days and weeks of prep.

Some photographers say they like to keep their locales secret. Maybe to give themselves a chance to revisit the site and get more great images later. That is OK once in a while. But mostly you should share location data with your viewers when you share the pictures.

I’ve laid on the ground in front of a bed of tulips with other photographers, elbow to elbow as we shot. None of us captured the same images.

I’ve placed my tripod next to many other photographers at Oxbow Bend and the Moulton Barns in the Grand Tetons in Wyoming. All of our images are different due to gear and imagination and photographic vision.

“The earth is art, the photographer is only a witness.”
– Yann Arthus-Bertrand

On Flickr, where I store my images, I try to add each photo to a map so that the “Where?” is always answered. Now, I am going to try to figure out how to do that on an iPhone. Any hints?

If that ‘where?” is the one question someone has when viewing my image, I want them to know the answer. But also to know that isn’t the whole answer.

The location may be somewhere close to home or some place I traveled to. But there is more to the story behind the picture!

--

--