Top 10 Photography Apps and Resources

Adam Karnacz
Vantage
Published in
5 min readNov 5, 2017

I often get asked about what apps I am using and why. In the crowded world of photography apps it can quickly become overwhelming. To help, I have curated this list of apps that solve a variety of different problems I encounter on a day to day basis.

Adobe Lightroom

First up is Lightroom. I talked about the Adobe Lightroom ecosystem a couple of weeks ago on my YouTube channel, but having the ability to edit or tweak your photos on the go is a very nice feature and often saves time. One of the best features of the phone app though is the built in camera. This allows you to shoot Raw DNG files and gives an impressive amount of control in post-processing.

Photopills

Next up is Photopills. It is an absolute must for nearly all photographers, especially landscapers. You can plan your shoots, work out exposure times, arrange time lapses, measure hyperfocal distances and it has a brilliant AR mode that shows where the sun will be setting. It is also perfect for planning milky way shots, subject distances and a lot more. I like it because it brings lots of things into one place and is like a Swiss army knife of photography.

Canon Connect

A lot of the new Canon cameras now have built in WiFi which means they will connect to a phone, tablet or laptop giving you remote control of the camera. I have found myself using this more and more in the field. If the camera is low down I can stand and fire the camera from a more sensible position. If I need to change exposure, that can all be done from the app. It is also perfect for video. I used it to monitor myself with the iPad while creating the video that accompanies this article. Another feature is control of focus and the ability to stop and start the record. An example where it can be used can be used is in situations like weddings. I might have one camera set up to record video whilst I’m taking pictures with another. It is a level of control and multi tasking that just did not exist before.

Weather App

Fourth on the list is a weather app. If you ever shoot outside, you will need one. I use the BBC weather app. It is not always the most accurate but it is easy and you can monitor multiple locations. I also like that it is not always accurate. As a landscape photographer, good images can be captured in every condition. If you only went out when you knew it was going to be nice, you would miss out on a lot.

Ordnance Survey Map App

Next is the OS Map app. This is a mapping app for the UK. When out shooting landscape photography it is vital, for safety, to know exactly where you are. I am going to be talking about this more in future videos, but for a small annual fee you have access to all the OS maps and your GPS position shows exactly where you are. It has helped me out of a few jams this year!

500px

Recently, and finally, I started uploading to the photo sharing site 500px. This is a good social platform for photographers where good quality photography can be seen without the huge amount of rubbish witnessed on Instagram. There is also a range of new features for enthusiasts and professionals wanting to sell their work and, overall, it seems like a good community. Flickr is dead so please check out my 500px page at First Man Photography.

Instagram

You know why. If you’re not, you should.

Hyperlapse

Another app from Instagram is Hyperlapse. This is designed primarily to easily capture a Hyperlapse as you walk. It works by digitally stabilising the footage whilst you shoot, giving a smoother shot at the end. You can slow the Hyperlapse down to real time so it is a great solution to capture stabilised footage straight onto your phone. It is free and definitely worth a try.

Medium

Medium is a blogging platform that puts the written word front and centre (you know that of course!!). It has great content from the newest writers, to the best writers in the world. I have been writing and contributing to the Vantage publication for a couple years now. It is one of the biggest photography platforms on Medium and has some great articles to get stuck into.

Traditional Websites

Finally we have the humble website. There are some amazing photography resources out there that I consume and contribute to on a regular basis. Blog slights like PetaPixel and Fstoppers, Canon Rumours is always fun, Skippy sky, the OS website, Google maps for planning and getting to places, and of course the First Man Photography website.

These apps have saved me time and solved problems for me. They create extra efficiency that just lets me do more and get better and better. Hopefully it can do the same for you.

Why not watch the accompanying video to this article?

Adam Karnacz is a photographer sharing the journey on YouTube at First Man Photography. New videos go up every Sunday. If you enjoyed this article please applaud so more people can see it. Thanks

--

--

Adam Karnacz
Vantage

Photographer and Filmmaker, documenting the journey at First Man Photography and on YouTube. Instagramming and Tweeting at @adamkarnacz.