What it Takes to Be a Photojournalist

As explained to a third grader

Taylor Glascock
Vantage
Published in
5 min readApr 21, 2015

--

As a working freelance photojournalist in a major city, I’m occasionally asked to speak to classes or answer questions from local students about what it takes to be successful in my field. Although I hesitate to call myself “successful,” I’m willing to give advice to anyone who asks.

Recently, a third grader from Kentucky named Kiran emailed me because she wanted to write about being a photojournalist for Career Day. I didn’t even realize that being a photojournalist was a job until college, so Kiran is already ahead of the game. I’m pretty sure that when I was in third grade, I still wanted to be a marine biologist (even though I couldn’t swim underwater).

I’ve reproduced our correspondence with permission from Kiran’s mother. If you read the email in the image above, you can skip to the next section.

Dear Ms. Glascock,

Hi, my name is Kiran…I’m in third grade…in Lexington, Kentucky. My class is researching what they want to be when they grow up for Career Day. I want to be a photojournalist just like you. My mom found your name online because she likes to read The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times.

I was wondering if you could help me learn about being a photojournalist. Here are some questions:

  1. What personal qualities do you need to be a photojournalist?
  2. What are some positives and negatives about the job?
  3. What type of camera do you like to use the most and why?
  4. What is the most interesting thing about your job?
  5. How do you find your subjects you take pictures of?

I take pictures of my own too! I use a Sony NEX-7. I have attached some of my own.

I really appreciate you reading my email. Can you please respond by Friday? My project is due next week.

Sincerely,

Kiran

P.S. I really like Chicago because I was born there and I like cats too!!!

photo by Kiran K.

Hi Kiran,

Thanks for emailing me. This made my day!

What personal qualities do you need to be a photojournalist?

To be a photojournalist, you need to be very curious about the world and how things work. You should be creative and like telling stories. You also need to be brave, because every day you will meet new people and be put in new situations.

What are some positives and negatives about the job?

Positives:

  • You do something different every day
  • You get to be creative and do what you love as a job
  • The photojournalism community is full of wonderful and supportive people
  • You get to make a difference in people’s lives

Negatives:

  • Carrying all of your equipment is hard on your body
  • It’s a very competitive field, so you have to try to be the best
  • Sometimes you have to take pictures of things that are boring, like empty lots (yuck!)
  • Newspapers are cutting down their photo staffs, so there aren’t as many jobs anymore

What type of camera do you like to use the most and why?

I use a Canon 5D Mk III and a 5D Mk II to take photos. They are great for taking photos in dim lighting, because the technology is advanced enough that you don’t have to use a flash. Having a nice camera is a plus, but remember that it’s less about the camera, and more about the person using the camera ☺

What is the most interesting thing about your job?

The most interesting part of my job is the variety of things I get to do. I’ve met celebrities, toured chocolate factories, and ridden in hot air balloons! I’ve had a lot of amazing experiences just because of my camera. I also get to help people by telling their stories and raising awareness about important issues.

How do you find your subjects you take pictures of?

Usually a newspaper or magazine calls me and sends me to a place to take photos, but sometimes if I see something interesting happening, I’ll just ask if I can take a photo! People usually say yes. I also keep an eye on the calendar to see if there’s anything cool happening, like a festival, then I’ll go and take photos just for fun. It’s best to always have a camera on you, and luckily my phone camera works pretty well if I happen to leave my real camera at home!

Your photos are very nice. You understand light and composition already, and there are people my age who don’t understand those yet! I’d love to see more.

Here’s a photo of my cat sitting on my lap. He usually does this whenever I write emails.

If you pick out a picture you like from my website, I can mail it to you! Or, I can pick one out.

I hope you get an A+ and let me know if you need anything else at all.

Taylor

Dear Ms. Glascock,

Thank you very much for your email. I got a lot of great information from you. Now I don’t have to do as much research. I went to your website and found a picture that I liked. It is the portrait of a solo chicken.

I liked the picture of your cat.

He is pretty. ☺

Lots of Thanks to You,

Kiran

Photo by Kiran K.

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below.
This will help to share the story with others.

--

--

Taylor Glascock
Vantage

Chicago freelance photographer. Writer for Vantage and creator of Shit Photojournalists Like. Self-deprecation, photography, and cats.