My Review of Aero10

Isaac E
Vaporwave’s Blog
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2018

Hello! and welcome to my blog post about Aero10 an operating system developed by REC and AO554.

Introduction

I have been using this os as my daily driver for over a week now and it is rock solid as its based of Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 2016. This basically means that you will only get security updates and bug fixes as its designed for a mission-critical environment.

Aero10’s logo

Pros & Cons

The upsides of this approach is that you know everything is stable and you don’t boot up your PC one day to find the latest update has borked your graphics drivers. But like anything there are downsides, those being that you wont get some of the cool features in later versions of windows like game mode or windows mixed reality. The most important downside in my opinion is that it requires a special key unlike normal Windows 10.

Design

Now for the design, as you can see it shares a “aero” like appearance that was pioneered on windows vista and became popular with Windows 7. It comes with a transparent taskbar and a Windows 7 like start menu, but can be changed in the settings of it to get a more Windows 10 like menu. There are lots of settings to configure how it looks, so you can get the look you want down to a T. It comes stock with a few wallpapers although they are non-hd, but you probably wont care as you will use your own wallpapers regardless. The only issue I can see is a few immersion breaking points like the Action Center, but they can’t re skin that I think so if they just removed it, then the issue would be fixed.

Aero10’s default desktop.

Performance

Now when I installed this operating system I didn’t expect there to be a performance drop, and my theory was correct, there is no noticeable performance drop in day to day usage, everything I have thrown at this os as performed exactly like my old Windows 10 Pro install, just with heaps more reliability.

Aero10 system screen

Overall

I haven’t run into issues in my week with Aero10, and I applaud both REC and AO554 for creating such a fluid and modern looking operating system. Its everything I personally wanted Windows 10 to be, no metro apps, no constant updates and a great looking design. I rate Aero10 a 4.5/5, It could have removed the Action Center at stock as it ruins immersion and maybe made a version of Windows 10 Pro, but they have said this will happen in the future.

I hope you enjoyed reading this, please clap if you liked it so I know to write more like this, also respond with what blog posts you would like to see.

--

--