Spotlight on R&D: Articulating a Vision for the Biology Team at Variant Bio

Jennifer Brady
Variant Bio
Published in
3 min readJan 16, 2024
Jennifer Brady (right), Director of Biology at Variant Bio, together with fellow team member Chin-Wen Lai (left).
Jennifer Brady (right), Director of Biology at Variant Bio, together with fellow team member Chin-Wen Lai (left). Photo credit: Sarah LeBaron von Baeyer

I recently relocated to Seattle from the San Francisco Bay Area with my two beloved huskies in order to join the R&D team as Director of Biology at Variant Bio. My new role entails bringing my experience in biology and genetics-driven drug discovery to advance existing pipeline targets and working closely with the Genomic Discovery team to nominate new targets. In addition to managing contract research organizations and providing biological interpretation of data to enable project decision making, I get to lead and mentor a high-performing team of scientists in preclinical drug discovery and target validation. I’m excited to be in a role where my input will influence company strategy, initiatives, direction, and culture, and allow me the opportunity to collaborate with kind and talented colleagues.

Prior to joining Variant Bio, I was a project leader at 23andMe Therapeutics, leveraging genetics-driven drug discovery to nominate and prosecute drug targets for metabolic and renal disease. I led a variety of early-stage small molecule and peptide drug discovery projects, as well as the design and execution of genetics-driven recruitment studies. I joined 23andMe from a Scientist position at Surrozen, a company developing bi-specific antibodies for WNT pathway agonism and tissue regeneration, where I led efforts on the liver team.

Before making the switch to industry, I completed a postdoc in Genetics at Stanford University, leveraging genetically engineered mouse models to study mechanisms of lung cancer tumor progression and metastasis. My PhD training (also at Stanford, but in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology) focused on the molecular factors required to induce or maintain stem cell functionality.

Jennifer Brady outside Variant Bio’s new laboratory facility in Seattle.
Jennifer Brady outside Variant Bio’s new laboratory facility in Seattle. Photo credit: Sarah LeBaron von Baeyer

I was drawn to a career in genetics-driven drug development because I enjoy the challenge of solving biological questions and uncovering new biology. It is personally motivating to work in a field where scientific knowledge, dedication, and creativity in the lab can have a positive, tangible outcome for patients. Not many companies are equipped to do this kind of work, and it was impressive to see the range of Genomic Discovery capabilities established at Variant Bio with such a small team. I was very moved by the distinct and deliberate people-first approach Variant Bio has elected to take with respect to its partnerships, ethics, benefit sharing, and Affordable Medicines Pledge, and the level of thought and care that went into those decisions.

At Variant Bio, my vision for the Biology team is to ensure we conduct exciting and rigorous science in a supportive environment where team members can grow scientifically and professionally, and learn from each other on our shared journey to bring drugs to patients. It is important to me that we work together to design the most appropriate scientific strategies and make the best decisions possible in order to maximize benefit for partner communities and the data they have shared with us.

As a member of the broader R&D team, I look forward to bringing the summation of my past experience with GWAS/PheWAS, target biology, and early stage drug discovery to ensure Variant Bio project teams are asking the right scientific questions, using resources efficiently, and making the decisions required to progress targets with the most potential for success. As a Director, I also see it as part of my role to foster and maintain a culture that enables the scientific process. I feel the best environment for science is one where team members are intellectually engaged, challenged, motivated, and recognized for their work, in a setting where interpersonal communication and expectations are clear. Maintaining those values will help Variant Bio achieve our mission to develop life-saving therapies for patients around the world.

--

--