A Year of Medium: 4 Down-to-Earth Insights into Writing for this Platform

I’ve learned a few things along the way, I hope this helps you too

Fernando Doglio
Varietate

--

Photo by Visual Stories || Micheile on Unsplash

I’ve been writing on Medium since January 2018, but randomly and very inconsistently. However, in September 2020 I decided to turn this into a side-hustle and that’s the year I want to analyze in this article.

A year of writing every single day, publishing as often as I could while at the same time I was keeping a very precarious balance between my 9 to 5 and other side-hustles I have.

It’s been an interesting year, with some wins and some losses, but definitely a lot of wisdom gained in the process which is what I want to share with you. Because if you’re here it’s because you’re either just getting started, or looking for ways to improve what you’re already doing.

Let’s get started.

The stats

Starting by the lessons learned makes no sense if you don’t know exactly what I did and how well it worked, so let’s get that out of the way.

During this year of writing I managed to publish a total of 80 paywalled articles. That’s not a lot if you think about it, and I’m going to come back to this in a minute.

--

--

Fernando Doglio
Varietate

I write about technology, freelancing and more. Check out my FREE newsletter if you’re into Software Development: https://fernandodoglio.substack.com/