Death of AI.

Vasily Betin
Vasily Betin
Published in
5 min readApr 7, 2016

Everyone wonders about the death. How will I die? When will I die? Human life becomes a torture when you know that your days are numbered. When you known that the date of death is getting closer and closer. Some studies suggest that it is very useful to think about death and represent it. Some religious doctrines and traditions offer us to represent our death every night before going to bed, to be reborn again in the morning. The “Hagakure: Book of the Samurai” offers us to die in advance, so your life will be filled with meaning and actions, not fears. I even had the idea to create a mobile application where you will evaluate your every day on the basis of “Will I regret about this day on my deathbed or not.” But this is philosophy, back to the topic.

If I die now, would it be ok?”. And I need that answer to always be “yes”. This is my perfect solution to living a good life with no regrets.

A person can have different experiences of the awareness of death. From complete apathy to aggression. Sometimes people commit suicide to take their destiny in their hand and to avoid the torture of expectation. Yes. The question is not an easy to answer.

But today is not about that. A couple of days ago, tormented by the heat and insomnia because of a simple cold one thought came to me. I do not know why.

It is the first thing I think of when I wake up. The last thing before I fall asleep.

Images from my experimental interactive project (I will publish it latter)

In general, the essence of the experiment is as follows. Let us assume that we already have the artificial intelligence that is very close to pass the Turing test, and it is conscious. And suppose that a certain artist decided to play on the theme about death of machines. We have a mind (no matter what it is: the program, the robot), and we can keep track of his thoughts. This mind (in the future, I will call it AI) is the subject of our investigations. His death implicit in his program. Remember how many problems it has brought for people and robots in the movie “Blade Runner”? He dies cyclically, for example every two hours. And he is aware of this. That is, the mind is aware of what he left to live in minutes. He begins to realize that this process is cyclical (he is still having the intellect). Dying, he then comes to life again (its memory and information remain, but here again you can play with the options). Maybe it’s a little ease his suffering. However, he will never know when the process was stopped and whether it stop? It would be interesting to see how he would react to it. I think it will be able to reveal to us the nature of our human feelings, thoughts and maybe even more than an experiment with people (certainly not as cruel).

What does this experiment can teach us, and what questions it raises?

  1. How humane conducts this kind of experimentation on sentient beings. Now we are often justified by the fact that plants and animals are not reasonable or not quite a reasonable and so we can use them for our needs. Now the question is raised much higher. In fact how important for us the suffering of other beings, even if not true and we have created. (The pain we do not take into account, we wanted to spit on the animals and everything else for the sake of our needs).
  2. Maybe we should try and experiment with the AI in a slightly different direction? Now we often try to replicate the structure and function of the brain when working on the AI. Maybe when we get closer to that he can teach us more than we now know about our brains, our emotions, our feelings? Can we really are not so many know about us? Such experiments would give us a tremendous opportunity to study those “on the edge”, where we can not use people.
  3. What is now the art and who is an artist. I meet and talk with many artists in various fields. Sometimes I myself belong to them. In my opinion, Artist is now more than just an artist, this is the first researcher in life. Researchers of social issues, technology, and psychology. What these guys are different from artists who are now engaged in the creation of technological sculptures to emphasize the human alienation from society due to the use of technology?

I guess that’s it. But I think to deal with these three issues, we need enough time. Actually, my time and life will not be enough to answer it. Your suggestions and thoughts on this? And what thoughts premonition of death causes you?

PS. In addition, we can individually learn the Intelligence on data and content of certain user (person), his history and the interests, his information. Then we can learn about how he would react to the approaching death. Or make him live in the artificial real consciousness after death.

This article does not provide answers. It’s probably not even an article. Rather, my thoughts and start of dialogue. I am interested in your thoughts on the matter.

--

--

Vasily Betin
Vasily Betin

Symbiosis with entropy and uncertainty to create. Creative director Sokaris.com, educator, entropy artist, nonhunamart.org, lensofthoughts.com