Meet the team: Michelangelo Bucci

A series of posts to introduce the Grakn Labs team

Precy Kwan
Vaticle
2 min readNov 15, 2016

--

Highly interconnected data from complex domains is challenging to model, maintain and query. With GRAKN.AI, which is an open source, distributed knowledge graph, building intelligent systems becomes dramatically easier.

This is the third in a series of blog posts to introduce the Grakn Labs team. To find out more about what we do, please visit the GRAKN.AI website and get in touch via our Community page.

Name: Michelangelo Bucci. But everybody calls me Miko.

What do you do at Grakn Labs?

That’s a very good question! I’m sort of a jack-of-all-trades. Mainly I use the stack, test it, break it, bother the rest of the team with my findings and ideas and blog about the whole thing.

How long have you been in the team?

I started in June 2016. I started the day after THE Brexit referendum.

What did you do before you joined Grakn Labs?

I have always been a mathematician in the academia. And I still am. You don’t just stop being a mathematician. I learn, I think, I teach. That’s what I have always done and, in a way, that’s what I still do.

What do you like about working in the team?

The team itself! Loads of great people and interesting brains.

What are you looking forward to in the coming months?

We have just released the stack into the wild. I can’t wait to watch it used in the real world and see what kind of projects it will be used for.

Spaces or tabs?

Spaces: I’m a Python guy. See discussion here.

Favourite food order in the Grakn Labs weekly shop?

Apples and berries. I eat LOADS of apples.

(Editorial Note: Our office manager Raph will testify to that.)

Tell us more about what you do when you’re not at work.

How long do I have? :)
I am a curious and avid learner, and that means that I have far too many hobbies and interests. I love boardgames and role-playing games. I’m a runner. I am a tango and (beginner) lindy-hop/swing dancer. I love cooking and baking. I’m into everything computer related. I try and read something everyday both fiction and nonfiction. I love hiking and going to the movies. I have been into choral singing for several years back in Italy. And so on and so forth…

Stay updated about Grakn Labs by following us on Twitter.

You can follow Miko on Twitter and LinkedIn.

--

--