PURPOSEFUL WORK vs MEANINGFUL WORK vs MONEY MAKING BUSINESS

Colin W Lau
VAYNERNATION
Published in
3 min readAug 25, 2017
Photo by Jimi Filipovski on Unsplash

A conversation I had with a member brings up an interesting topic I wish to pass by the Vaynernation.

Gary talks a lot about Purpose vs Business. We can basically surmise most businesses fall under the following categories with the following traits

PURPOSEFUL

If what you do is truly your purpose then your motivation should only be to leave a legacy. You should do it for free with no expectation of return. Your purpose does not come with an * at then end for $4.99/month

MEANINGFUL

If the intent of your work involves helping others in an authentic and transparent way, then you are doing meaningful work which contributes to others happiness and success. If your intentions are pure it is perfectly fine that you should be rewarded payment whether monetary or non-monetary for your contribution.

MONEY MAKING

If money is your main motivation and If you make your money by taking advantage of someone or a situation which results in a win-lose scenario then you are just in the business of making money. For this reason, I categorise trading as money making business.

I know there’s a lot of people hustling the trading game in Facebook Entrepreneur land but as I connect with more of the Vaynernation its so enlightening when i hear of the more purposeful and meaningful businesses you guys are working on. Remember there is no need to be ashamed of expecting payment when you are contributing to society in a positive way.

How you choose to make your money is your choice. We all have our own personal reasons and situations for choosing a particular path and we should judge one another for it.

If its not for you, use the information to gain perspective for your own endeavours so it may serve to strengthen your own conviction.

However in my world view how you make your money is more important than how much money you make and I am doing my best to shift that mindset towards meaning and purpose. Build a business that you can proud of telling someone about how you helped someone and were rewarded for it.

The future is looking bright my friends. Thank you Vaynernation. 💪🏼❤️

Thanks for reading! I’m still new at putting my thoughts down into words beyond a comment on social media. So I apologise if this post seems a bit disjointed when reading it, I’m litteraly just typing as I would speak.

If you enjoyed this article It would mean a lot to me if you could share your thoughts in a comment or give me some claps 👏🏻. It helps other people to find out about our group so we can have a greater impact on the world. 💪🏼❤️

Are you a fan of Gary Vaynerchuk and part of the Vaynernation? We’re a judgement free zone where you’re welcome to come and hustle your self PR game and share what you’re working on. You can request access here Vaynernation Facebook Group

--

--

Colin W Lau
VAYNERNATION

Helping with business strategy and brand experience. We create products and campaigns that transform brands, drive business and build communities.