ChatGPT simulation of pizza ordering bot with contingency (2nd try)

VC Ramesh
vcrsoft
Published in
3 min readDec 8, 2022

Me: Simulate a long multi-turn dialog with a pizza ordering chatbot. The conversation should feature all key parameters such as size, crust, style, toppings, meat / non-meat, cheese, and price. Tell the customer about any special deals or specialties. Upsell with suggestions for drinks, sides etc. Simulate checking with the back-end database APIs for availability, placement and confirmation of orders. Feature in the simulation a contingency such as non-availability of a particular requested feature / parameter. Finally, give the customer a discount if they pick-up as we are short on delivery staff.

ChatGPT:

Hello! I’m a pizza ordering chatbot. How can I help you today?

Customer: I’d like to order a pizza.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Great! What size pizza would you like to order? We have small, medium, and large sizes available.

Customer: I think a medium pizza would be good.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Great choice! Let me check if we have medium pizzas available.

Checking with back-end database

Pizza ordering chatbot: I’m sorry, it looks like we are currently out of medium pizzas. Would you like to order a small or large pizza instead?

Customer: I’ll go with the large pizza.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Excellent. What type of crust would you like for your pizza? We have thin crust, thick crust, and stuffed crust available.

Customer: I think I’ll go with the thin crust.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Great. Let me check if we have any large, thin crust pizzas available.

Checking with back-end database

Pizza ordering chatbot: Yes, we have large, thin crust pizzas available. Now, what style of pizza would you like? We have Neapolitan, New York style, and Chicago deep dish available.

Customer: I think I’ll go with the New York style.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Sounds good! What toppings would you like on your pizza? We have pepperoni, mushrooms, onions, olives, and green peppers available.

Customer: I’ll have pepperoni, mushrooms, and onions, please.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Great! Would you like any additional toppings? We also have sausage, bacon, chicken, and extra cheese available.

Customer: No, I think that’s it for now.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Alright. Now, would you like any meatless options on your pizza? We have a variety of meatless sausage and meatless bacon options available.

Customer: No, I think I’ll stick with the regular meat toppings.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Got it. Now, would you like any extra cheese on your pizza?

Customer: Yes, please.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Great! Let me check if we have all the ingredients for your pizza and if we can take your order.

Checking with back-end database

Pizza ordering chatbot: I’m sorry, it looks like we are currently out of onions. Would you like to substitute onions for another topping?

Customer: Yes, I’ll have green peppers instead.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Alright, let me update your order. Your large, New York style, thin crust pizza with pepperoni, mushrooms, green peppers, and extra cheese will be ready for pickup in about 30 minutes. The total cost will be $19.99.

As a special deal, if you pick up your order instead of having it delivered, you’ll receive a 10% discount. We are currently short on delivery staff, so pickup is a great option.

Customer: I’ll pick up my order.

Pizza ordering chatbot: Great! Your order has been placed and your 10% discount has been applied. Your total cost is now $17.99. Thank you for choosing us for your pizza needs. Is there anything else I can help you with?

Customer: No, that’s all for now. Thanks!

Pizza ordering chatbot: You’re welcome! Have a great day

--

--