VECTARY makers: Tyler Bowers’ steel door stopper 3D printed with Shapeways

VECTARY
VECTARY blog
Published in
3 min readJun 12, 2017

We’ve recently released our Shapeways plugin so you can order your 3D models directly from the VECTARY tool. Tyler was one of the first to try it out and he chose to order a material not usually accessible to the average maker — steel.

A simple low poly model of a ram door stopper looks amazing in steel, don’t you think?

We asked Tyler a few questions about his first experience with VECTARY and the Shapeways plugin.

Tyler, tell us something about yourself. What do you do for a living?

I am a graphic designer.

Why did you start to use VECTARY?

I have always been into sculptures, working with metal, clay and resin casts. The ability to do the same work virtually, using digital design, has always been appealing. Working and associating with 3D designers and modelers, I have always wanted to pick 3D modeling up, but the programs all seemed rather overwhelming.

Do you have any previous experience with 3D modeling?

I’ve spent some time working in 3ds.

How long did it take to get to learn VECTARY?

Roughly a couple of hours, but it seems like there is always something new to learn in it.

What do you usually create in VECTARY?

I guess I mostly created busts, but replicas, tools, housing accessories have all been in there, too.

Regarding the Shapeways plugin, what have you decided to order and why?

I created a ram head door stopper. I just love the way the horns turned out and how the head rests on a rocky, yet oval platform. It’s a nice geometric representation of a classic animal that symbolizes my hometown.

How long did it take to create such a model?

I based it on my goat head. The goat head took me approximately four hours to complete and the ram head modification was probably an additional three to get it the way I wanted it.

Ok, so you ordered your 3D model, what do you think about the final result?

The final result was amazing! I didn’t think you could 3D print in steel, but the detail and quality are just great. Everyone I showed it to is amazed that it was a custom print from a 3D model.

How do you see the Shapeways integration in our tool, are there any specific features that you like?

The plugin itself is very impressive to me. Not only is it in the application so the transfer of the model to an ordering system is as seamless as hitting a print button, it also features all the material choices, scaling and pricing result right in the app. That makes it foolproof and extremely convenient for such a highly-customized process.

What would you like to order next time?

Can I just say “everything”?! Because now I’m making plans for a sculpture I have been trying to create for a while — the “cog dog.” I’m also planning some ornaments for family gifts. A better iPad stand for my wife. Oh, and possible tool drivers that would cost me a fortune otherwise.

Thanks Tyler,

Visit Tyler's VECTARY profile>

--

--

VECTARY
VECTARY blog

Online 3D design tool for graphic designers and studios