How I Found A Career in Sales Through Veeva’s Consultant Development Program

Generation Veeva
Veeva
Published in
4 min readJan 13, 2022

By: Mary Molnar, Account Executive

I’m often asked about my journey at Veeva: about my move from the Consultant Development Program to the Sales Development Program, about how I moved from our new grad program to an Account Executive in four years, about the experience, the lessons learned, the why and the how. As with most profound things in life, the answer really is quite simple.

Where It All Started

My background is in psychology, with a focus on clinical research. So I started at Veeva four years ago implementing our Clinical Operations applications as an Associate Consultant in our Consultant Development Program. This “CDP” program is specifically designed for new grads and built on my preliminary foundation in life sciences with hands-on learning opportunities right out of the gate. Numerous training and mentorship opportunities abounded. Before I knew it, I experienced everything from configuring and designing technology solutions to computer systems validation, training customers, strategizing ways to ensure customer success and user adoption, project management, and a deep immersion in the Life Sciences industry. I also got to travel quite a bit and made some really great friends.

CDP: The Foundation to My Journey Into Sales

Along the way, I had the opportunity to work closely with Account Executives, Strategy leaders, Product Managers, and Customer Success Managers. I got a sneak peek of what it’s like to be working in an active sales cycle, the types of strategic conversations that take place during and after the buying process, and the dynamics of working with buyers and business leads. Then, there was this presentation that a few sales folks gave to the “CDPers.” They talked about what they do as Sales Development Representatives, breaking into new accounts; as Solution Consultants, providing demos to potential buyers; and as Account Executives, being a strategic partner to our customers every step of the way. It sounded interesting, and I wanted to learn more.

I began reaching out to people at Veeva and exploring these sales roles more in-depth. I talked to my manager and a few sales managers about it. They quickly introduced me to more people I could connect with to really understand if the move to sales would be the right move for me. One of the best things about Veeva is the company culture. Everyone is so caring and supportive, eagerly and actively lending a helping hand whenever possible. I even got to go to the Radnor, PA office to shadow the Sales Development Rep team and get a sense of “A Day in the Life” before ultimately deciding to transition to Sales.

The Sales Development Program built on what I had learned in the Consultant Development Program. The business drivers for why companies buy Veeva’s technology solutions, the existing gaps with legacy solutions, common challenges our customers go through, the competitive landscape, how to identify prospective customers and expand our technology footprint within existing accounts, and Veeva’s sales methodology were all bits of knowledge added to my professional development toolbox.

After grounding myself in the Sales world as a Sales Development Rep, I transitioned into an Account Executive. This role brings all my previous experiences at Veeva together: customer-facing, project management, strategic partner mindset, knowledge of life sciences and applicable software solutions, and of course, account management.

My Advice to You

Those considering a similar path tend to ask if I have any advice, so I will leave you with this: Explore. Ask questions. Dive headfirst into the unknown. When I was in college, I would’ve never guessed that I’d be working at a technology company or in a sales role, but it turns out that this is exactly what I want to be doing and where I want to be doing it. So, whether you want to explore a similar path or just want to try something that might seem out of the box, my advice is to apply and check out what Veeva has to offer. I know I’m grateful I did.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Veeva.

--

--