How I Paved the Pathway For My Career at Veeva

Generation Veeva
Veeva
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2020

By: Arunima Roy, Associate Consultant

It has been a little over a year since I started at Veeva and my journey has been a unique experience. Prior to my initial screen, I had the chance to speak with various people. This gave me an idea of not only the culture here at Veeva but also how invested people are to making sure that I was the right fit for the company.

After going through my candidate exercise interview, one person had asked me:

“Based on your technical resume, why are you applying to be a consultant?”

To which I responded with something like:

“I like data and I like talking but most importantly, there is a team at Veeva that I wish to be in, and being a consultant will help me grow in both my technical and soft skills.”

From the moment I joined, my Consultant Development Program CRM manager, Matthew Pearson hasn’t stopped helping me achieve that goal. I had developed my base knowledge of CRM, but I knew it wasn’t exactly the right path for me. Matt was always aware of how I wanted to continue being data-oriented — encouraging me to try out different kinds of internal projects and pushing me to talk to various people. With his help, I was able to dip my toes in some internal work for the Andi team. Veeva Andi, for those of you not aware of this product, is our artificial intelligence (AI) application that embeds tailored insights and suggestions right in Veeva CRM.

Little did I know that while I was working on Andi, Matt was also starting the conversations with the Veeva Nitro team. Veeva Nitro is the industry-specific, commercial data warehouse, which for me was the perfect fit. Soon after my internal project ended, I promptly had an interview with the Nitro Director and a Senior Consultant.. and I was in!

For the last 7 months, I have learned so much from the team. Constantly learning more and more about the product and the industry. Being one of the first CDPers on the Nitro Team has been a great opportunity for me to evolve the process of how future associates join our teams.

Starting with a guide on how to effectively use the various software with Nitro to having weekly workshops with the whole services team, I’m constantly looking for more ways to make my mark here at Veeva and I’ve barely scratched the surface.

--

--