Down with Lethargy, Up with Energy: How to Navigate Winter with Nutrient-Rich Foods

Andrea Breaux
THE FUTURE IS VEGAN
4 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD), commonly known as the “winter blues,” is a mood disorder that manifests during specific seasons, particularly in winter. It involves experiencing symptoms such as sadness, low energy, appetite changes, and difficulty focusing. Although professional treatment is crucial, certain foods can also contribute to alleviating SAD symptoms.

“Honey, what are you doing sitting in the dark? Plus, you’re shivering,” Annie remarked as she entered the room. She grabbed the throw from the sofa to wrap around LJ.

“It’s chillier in here than I anticipated. I thought an early morning run would banish this lethargy I’ve been feeling. The frosty air was perfect, but now I’m cooling down, and it turns out I’m freezing. On top of that, I’m exhausted. Must be those occasional winter blues sneaking up on me.”

Annie wrapped her arms around his shoulders and tightened the blanket, “How about a high-energy breakfast? It’ll warm you up and boost your spirits, too.”

LJ raised an eyebrow curiously. “Really? I always thought the remedy for winter blues was soaking up as much sunlight as possible. What do foods have to do with mood?”

--

--

Andrea Breaux
THE FUTURE IS VEGAN

Andrea started Healthyhealingeats.com based on her goal to inspire a shift in consciousness that recognizes food-as-medicine as the core of good health.