Who’s leading the food truck search?

Veggielution
Veggielution
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2017

Rosa Contreras joined our team just under a month ago and she has hit the ground not just running, but sprinting. These days, you are most likely to find her meeting with local community leaders discussing the future of Eastside Grown, our new culinary entrepreneurship incubator that will bring together residents and celebrate East San José. She’s been traveling up and down the peninsula from one food truck to another, examining every inch, making sure that it is the right fit for us. Her hustle for this program and our mission is awe-inspiring and we know that she will help make Eastside Grown a cultural and community centerpiece of East San José. In her “free time”, Rosa was able to sit down and reflect and forecast her role as Eastside Grown Project Coordinator.

Can you give a little bit about your background and where you are from?

Iwas born and raised here in San José, CA, the only child of an emergency nurse and a PG&E Gas technician. My parents were born in California as well, but my family has its origins in Jalisco and Michoacan, Mexico. Growing up Mexican American provided for an interesting platform. I felt as though I always existed in two worlds. My first official language was English, but I learned to read and write in Spanish before English, I began Mexican folk dancing at the age of 4, and attended River Glen Spanish Immersion School.

How did you initially hear about Veggielution?

I heard about Veggielution through a friend, who was cooking for the second Cocina class in April and thought it would be a good idea for me to join.I first visited Veggielution for the second Cocina class and I participated in most of the class, but I had to leave early to a funeral. My early departure served as a teaser, because I had to come back the next month and experience Cocina completely. When I came back for the second time I fell in love with Veggielution, the farm, and the power of cooking with community.

Why were you originally drawn to this position(Eastside Grown Coordinator)?

I was drawn to this position because I am passionate about health and entrepreneurship. I had been playing with the idea of creating a healthy food concept, building a familiar menu that could appeal to many people, and some day owning and operating my own food truck. When I found out about this position I couldn’t believe it! It presented itself to me as a dream job and after having many jobs in my short career I felt relief to have found something that was aligned with my own vision, Veggielution’s mission is aligned with my values and had the potential for growth.

What are you most excited about this project?

EVERYTHING! When I think about what I am most excited about so many things come to mind! I can honestly say I am excited about every aspect of this job, but if I had to put my finger on one thing, it would be providing opportunities for people in our community to pursue careers in food.

What is your vision for this program?

As I meet with various individuals and organizations my vision for this program is constantly evolving. As the coordinator it is my job to incorporate the views and opinions of people from different sectors of our local economy to make this program successful for everyone. If everything pans out, East Side Grown will become a food hub for East San José, a community kitchen, a commissary, and a resource center that demystifies the permitting and health code process and regulations that pose a great threat to food entrepreneurs. The possibilities are vast and I am so thankful for this opportunity.

What does food and community mean to you?

Food and community go hand in hand. When I imagine food, my first memory is eating what my mom called “bean snot”, mashed pinto beans was my first food. Food is one of the few things that all people have in common, we all eat food. We all need food to survive, therefore it is a universal commonality. Food has the power to transform lives, bring people together, and above all help communities thrive.

When I say “Food in San José”, what comes to mind?

Unfortunately the food scene is San José is fairly limited. Yes there are many many places to eat and it is not hard to find sustenance, but the quality of the food offered around town is up for discussion. I was raised on meat and starch, but in recent years I have developed a veggie centric diet and San José has yet to catch on to the current trends. As significant as trends are, there is a greater concern for over all health. According to the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition (Obama Administration) a “typical American diet exceeds the recommended intake levels or limits in four categories: calories from solid fats and added sugars; refined grains; sodium; and saturated fat”. But hey, we are in the East Side where the “American” diet is less prevalent, right? If you look at the diet of a typical Mexican American in the East of San José, you will find the same four categories are dominating their plates. The Mexican appreciation of beans and rice has been abandoned and taco stands are open at all hours of the night. It is time to turn things around and prove to everyone that healthy food can also taste really good.

Eastside Grown is generously supported by The Knight Foundation.

--

--

Veggielution
Veggielution

Veggielution connects people through food and farming to build community in East San José.