Walk your talk.

Rhian Beutler
venntov
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2018

Blogging sucks, but you should do it anyways.

I don’t know why I find writing blogs so difficult.

But I do, and here I am, trying to do it anyways.

I have gotten on stage countless times and said that content strategy, especially a blogging strategy for your Shopify store is crucial for ranking well in Google.

I say that content building is important, because it is. But I don’t do it.

So, this is my public declaration of my intent to publish two blogs a week- about Shopify, SEO, and ecommerce in general.

Why does blogging matter for SEO?

So glad you asked.

When Google ranks your store they are looking at over 200 signals, and these often vary. However, one that never changes is fresh and relevant content that is pertinent to searches made by a potential visitor.

Plus, blogging is a way to authentically include long tail keywords, without it seeming like you’re trying to stuff every keyword you can think of into a paragraph.

As search behaviors change and become increasingly question driven ( ie.“ How do I keep houseplants alive?) and as Google’s search algorithm becomes more driven by machine learning- it is crucial that you have content on your store that matches these queries.

Sometimes this content isn’t well generated within your product. That’s just the reality of product pages- you want to get people stoked on your product and into the cart ASAP.

Give me an example!

A great real life example of blogging excellency is The Sill, they provide valuable content that answers questions potential buyers have, while linking back to other articles they have written, as well as products they sell.

Becoming a resource in your niche is imperative, and I highly recommend checking out their blog if you are looking for ideas on how to build tailored content for your brand.

If you have questions you want answered, please email them to me at hello@venntov.com . I would love to answer questions that Shopify merchants and Shopify partners have.

--

--

Rhian Beutler
venntov
Editor for

Co-founder + COO @ venntov. Super into SEO, SaaS ecommerce solutions, UX, SMB empowerment, and Shopify.