Profile of the month- Ruth Akintunde

Samuel
Venture Garden Group Technology Blog
4 min readAug 4, 2016

Here is an interesting interview with Ruth Okoilu who has been working as a mobile applications developer at Venture Garden Group for about two (2) years.

Techblog: Please tell us more about yourself.

Ruth: My name is Ruth Oluwadamilola Akintunde (previously Okoilu). I am a Christian, I’m married and I have a very cute 8-months old daughter. I am a motivator and I love to look good.

RuthOkoiluAkintunde2

Techblog: Can you give me a brief overview of what it is you do?

Ruth: I currently lead the mobile development team to create sleek and professional android and IOS applications for the company’s Strategic Business Units. They include PowerCollect Mobile, Garden Atlas (Android and IOS versions), SecureTech Biometric app, and MBDA, to name but a few. Most of our apps are already on play store while others are still in the oven.

Techblog: When and how did you decide that your current career is the right one for you?

Ruth: To be honest and like most Nigerian higher education graduates, Computer Science chose me. However unlike some, I became fascinated by how you can build a website, make a forecast or even invent stuff by writing a bunch of codes!

Tech Blog: What you like most about your role?

Ruth: Being a tech team lead comes with several responsibilities such as reasoning out the application’s architecture, picking out the theme, assigning tasks to team members and ensuring that deadlines are met. I basically like the fact that I can call my team together to not only inspire them to achieve their best work but also encourage them to innovate, think out of the box and pursue career development opportunities as well.

Tech Blog: What most challenging part of your job?

Ruth: I would say starting a new project could be quite challenging especially when the scope is not clearly defined or it involves doing something new such as designing the application to interact with a receipt printer or biometric device. The planning phase is usually the most difficult but it gets easier as the concept becomes clearer. And so, after figuring out how to achieve it, I would find myself so excited and engrossed in work that I forget to go for lunch.

Ruth

Tech Blog: What has been your major inspiration/driving force in your career in technology that seems to be a man’s world? How do you balance having a family with your career ambitions?

Ruth: Technology is perceived to be a man’s world because firstly, most women just don’t have enough confidence to try out techy stuff. Secondly, others who are bold enough to take up careers in technology eventually find it difficult to keep up with the ever-changing nature of the field as they settle down and get married. When children ultimately come along, they begin the parenting role. For me, I’m blessed to have a very supportive husband and mother-in-law to help me out. In addition, I try to be excellent in everything I do and now that happens to be technology. After all, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Tech Blog: What were you doing before you got to VGG?

Ruth: Before joining VGG, I was a member of the team that configured software to monitor Automated Teller Machines in various terminals, escalate issues and create periodical reports, managed by Computer Warehouse Group.

Tech Blog: Please tell us about a project or accomplishment that you consider to be the most significant.

Ruth: Mobile BDA gets my vote because it was the first mobile project I ever worked on. Working on the project was one of the most valuable learning experiences and an interesting introduction to mobile development.

Tech Blog: How many hours do you work a day on average? What is your typical workday like? What time of the working day is your favorite and Why?

Ruth2

Ruth: I start my day by praying and reading the Bible. Afterwards, I organize my tasks by creating a to-do list and set necessary reminders including lunch reminders. I enjoy studying the Bible as I always gain something insightful each time I read. I also enjoy that part of the day I set aside to explore new technology

Tech Blog: Who is your role model, and why?

Ruth: Jesus Christ is my role model. To me, the most important thing in life is to please God. And Jesus’ life was all about doing God’s will. God acknowledged this and said, “This is my beloved son with whom I’m well pleased…” So studying the life of Jesus teaches me how to do my work, relate with colleagues, talk, think and live in a way that pleases God.

Tech Blog: Your favorite quote? Shout outs?

Ruth: My favorite quotes are:

  • “Prove yourself first then rest later. Prove yourself quickly. Prove yourself consistently”
  • Coursera.org is your friend”

I would like to thank Wale Ogunibe and the Isheri staff that contributed to a great time at VGG. There are too many of you to name, but please know that it’s been quite a wonderful experience working with you. I’d like to give a shout-out to Tesilimi Yusuf, who has been of great help to my career development. I also thank Kemi Shonubi for her guidance and support and I’m grateful to the management for a pleasant working experience. God bless you all.

--

--