Convince your boss to cover your Venture Out ticket

Iradele Plante
Venture Out
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2018

So you’re trying to get your company to cover your Venture Out ticket? Fret not, copy the letter below and edit it as needed to show your boss all of the benefits of #VentureOut. Shout out to the fantastic team working their magic at the Lesbians Who Tech SF Summit for letting us copy their resource (with permission, of course).

Dear [MANAGER’S NAME],

I would like your approval to attend the Venture Out Conference from March 14–15, 2019. This event is dedicated to supporting and amplifying LGBTQA+ techies and will specifically offer specialized tech and career tracks providing the inspiration, education, and connections needed to continue being successful in my job.

This is not your typical conference. Venture Out aims to bring over 500+ attendees across Canada and areas of technology to share best practices aiding in our continued and future success. This would be a value-add to our [YOUR COMPANY] by diversifying our strategies and processes.

While attending, I’ll have the opportunity to meet and network with peers who are focused on the same challenges as me. Between the content presented in 20+ sessions, I plan to continue to strengthen my skills in [X], [Y] and [Z], and walk away having learned:

Goal 1:

Goal 2:

Goal 3:

The Venture Out agenda is here, and based on past years I know that it’ll cover a huge range of topics related to inclusive HR practices, queer tech entrepreneurship, trans and nonbinary inclusion, and designing with a culturally relevant perspective. I know that I’ll be able to build a packed agenda full of sessions relevant to what I’m working on.

I’m confident that my attendance at the summit will directly influence the quality of my work on [PROJECT NAME].

When I get back from Venture Out, I’m happy to share takeaways with the team, including those that we can implement immediately and outlines on how we’ll make that happen.

I’ve broken down the approximate cost of my attendance at Venture Out:

  • Airfare/Travel: [$IF APPLICABLE]
  • Hotel: [$IF APPLICABLE]
  • Event Registration: [$AMOUNT]
  • TOTAL: [$AMOUNT]

You can also learn more about the event at www.ventureout.ca

Thank you for taking the time to review this request, and I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

Best,

[YOUR NAME]

Visit https://ventureout.ca/2019-conference/ to get your tickets today!

--

--

Iradele Plante
Venture Out

Community Engagement Lead for Venture Out, casual femme for life 🙋🏻