The Next Step

Qian Chen
Verbal Communication
2 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

What did you try?

Since I have multiple interviews coming up in the next few weeks, I have been doing a lot of practice with my verbal communications. Last week I have attended an interview workshop with a retired PWC partner at the University at Buffalo. Beside in person practices I have also been doing video recording practices, because more and more meetings and interviews are done over Skype. Also recorded interviews are becoming popular as well, firms like EisnerAmper and Ernst and Young are both using video recording for their first round of interviews.

Verbal communication can be very different under different circumstances. Some people prefer in person communication over electronic communication. I Personally prefer in person communication, because I like seeing people’s facial expressions.

Why does it help?

By talking to more professionals, peers, and using my communication skill, have improved my vocabulary. It had also boosted my confident level, which helped me to express my thoughts more fluently. Being more confident is very important, because it shows the other person you have faith and believe in what you are about to say. It is also easier to persuade the person if you are confident in yourself, it makes you sound more creditable and trustworthy.

What are you going to do next?

My next step is to schedrule appointments at the Career Resource Center and do mock interviews or just normal conversations with individuals that works there. I would ask them for feedbacks and suggestions for improvements and changes. I believe that it would help me in all aspects by getting more practices, practice make everything perfect. Moreover, I would ask my professors to give me some tips during professional settings for future reference. On the other hand, I can also practice my verbal communication with my friends as well because informal communications are also important. We use informal communication everyday on our lives, it is necessary for forming relationships.

--

--