An overwhelmed mother wrote her first post about her four months old.

Nutan Poonia
Just Indian things
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2024

--

An overwhelmed mother, me, wrote my first social post for my son when he turned four months old. In a single post, I wanted to pour all my feelings, all my emotions and all my pain. I was at a loss of words. Did not know where to start, what to say. Every emotion was being multiplied by five. Every laugh, every tear, every sadness, every happiness was being fivefold. Emotions were everywhere. Just then, I sat and I wrote.

December 27, 2020. The happiest day of my life. I was nervous the whole time until the doctors gave me anesthesia. At 11:05 AM, my firstborn, came into our life, so tiny and fragile he was, that holding him made everyone’s heart pound. Everyone was looking at him with awe and wonder, reaching for his tiny hands, noticing his every movement, and trying to guess his features. Even in my anesthetic state, I could feel the happiness and positive energy around me and my baby.

It took two days to hold him in my arms properly, but when I did, I felt a strong emotion that I have never felt before. That time, everything else seemed so futile as nothing matters except him. Suddenly i became over-possessive for him and selfish because i didn’t want any stranger or not-so-close relative to touch him or hold him. I think every mom can relate to this.

I could have never imagined what motherhood is all about without him. Motherhood is that learning process which never ends your entire life. Yes!! IT is tough. Waking up every 2 hours is tough, making him sleep is tough, looking out for him is tough, watching him cry is tough, and taking him for his vaccination is the worst. The other most challenging part was postpartum depression. I dealt with it and i’m telling you it’s the worst feeling when i felt bad and low all the time for no reason at all. But everything is worth it for the love of my baby.

I thank both my mothers and my sister who took care of me and my baby during that crucial time. I thank my husband for being there for me whenever I needed him. Furthermore, I am thankful to every member of the family who visited us at the hospital to congratulate us.

https://www.instagram.com/nutanpooniabeniwal/?hl=en

--

--

Nutan Poonia
Just Indian things

Writes about culture, experience, life and much more . Read about everything. Lives in rural India.