Verlocal Diaries: LeahDesign

Natasha Ganesan
LHOKOSG
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2018

Each week, “Verlocal Diaries” records the Verlocal team’s adventures to various classes conducted by our hosts. From the narration of our hosts’ stories to the thoughts of our fellow participants, we piece together everything we have experienced to create a long lasting memory in the form of a diary entry — that is both personal and shareable.

Dear Diary,

Having had no experience at all in calligraphy or using a brush in general, I was quite anxious for Leah’s brush lettering course. I did not know what to expect so all I could do was hope that it would not be too much trouble for me to learn.

Leah’s class started off with an introductory session of what type is and how we see and utilise types and fonts in our everyday life. Following that, we were each handed a sheet of paper which contained the basic strokes of brush lettering as well as practice pieces for us to try our hand at writing the alphabets.

It certainly was not easy as there needed to be a lot of control on our arms. I also learnt that instead of using our wrists or fingers, we should use our arms to coordinate our movement. So if we feel strain on our wrists, that means that we are doing it the wrong way!

While it was quite challenging for a first timer like myself, I could tell that with practice, I could definitely improve my skills. But of course, it takes lots of time and practice…and patience as well!

The session was surprisingly therapeutic as well even though I found myself concentrating really hard so that I could perfect my letters. Overall, I would say that it was definitely an experience that I would love to revisit.

So if you would like to start your brush lettering journey as well, give Leah’s classes a try!

Sign up for her classes now: https://sg.verlocal.com/vl/365030

Interested in learning more about the classes Verlocal has to offer? Click our links below!

Discover more exciting workshops here!

Like us on Facebook
& follow us on Instagram
for more interesting features on all our workshops!

--

--