WD Blue SN550 NVMe m.2 SSD review: Best-in-class?

Vernon Chan
Vernonchan.com
Published in
6 min readOct 7, 2020

--

I believe that just like coffee, you can never have too much storage. As it is, I’m already running out of storage on my PC rig which I use for work and gaming. Those Steam installs and 4K video files, they fill up fast. Western Digital Malaysia recently dropped me their mainstream WD Blue SN550 NVMe m.2 SSD for review. It’s super affordable. But is it good? Read on.

I run a combination of NVMe m.2 SSDs, SATA SSDs and regular hard disk drives. I am looking to migrate to a full SSD-based setup though.

Externally, I have a two-bay Synology NAS and WD MyBook Duo for backup purposes. This excludes a stack of external SSDs and HDDs I use for quick backups, video projects and on-the-go purposes.

If you’re looking to upgrade your in-rig storage though, it’s a great time to do it because prices have plummeted and are still plummeting. RAM too for that matter.

Gone are the days when SSD storage was a luxury and meant for more expensive builds.

So, let’s take a look at the key specs of the WD Blue SN550.

These days, SSDs offer incredible value while delivering at least 3–5x the performance of regular hard disk drives. In all honesty, unless you want sheer capacity, there’s no reason not to use an SSD drive. Even better, if it was an m.2 SSD.

--

--

Vernon Chan
Vernonchan.com

Roving Creative. Content Creator. Serial Entrepreneur. Techie. Animal lover. Wanderluster. Petrolhead. Caffeine Bacterium