The Greatest Feeling In The World: Quitting

Manison
Vers.
Published in
4 min readSep 17, 2015

“I didn’t wanna do it, gave me every reason. The point I’m tryna make is I don’t ever need ’em. Seen what you’d do for fame, what would you do for freedom?”

I wrote my resignation letter while Drake “Back to Back” played in the background. I was once told, quitting was fun. I didn’t get it until I pressed send on the e-mail.

I moved to New York City last year to work full-time with a company I freelanced for straight out of college. I thought this would be a great move. Living in New York City was a dream and I was doing something I actually went to school for.

It was great, but the feeling didn’t last long. The woman I worked very closely with, who later became my “direct manager”, turned out to be a complete bitch.

I came in early, did my job and did it well. I took on other people’s responsibilities that caused me to put in additional hours without any push back or complaints.

That apparently wasn’t enough for her because she always had some passive aggressive complaint, asking ridiculous questions through e-mail when she sat across the hall, and watching my every move like a snake. Not to mention she’s the fakest person I’ve ever met. She’ll smile in your face to only talk about you behind your back. Bottom line is, I didn’t like her and she didn’t like me.

I soon realized I could not continue to work with her. I wasn’t even going to give her the opportunity to “manage” me at which she was failing miserably anyway.

Let’s fast forward all the way to the moment I knew I was going to quit…

It was a Friday during one of our pointless one-on-one meetings. She started the conversation by saying “you’re doing three people’s jobs”. She ended the conversation by saying this isn’t “a clock in at 9 and clock out at 6” job and that she wanted me to work weekends to catch up on the work that was damn near impossible to complete during the week.

Mind you, I was already putting in additional hours a week, so that 9 to 6 comment almost got her slapped. She also mentioned some other insulting things regarding other matters. At this point, all I saw was red. I felt myself beginning to explode and then suddenly I felt calm. This was it. I was going to quit. That was the first time, in a long time I felt at peace.

I was scheduled for vacation the following week, which was perfect timing. It was that week I was offered another job. Won’t GOD do it. And not just any job. It’s a great one. Excellent company, more money and 100 percent less work.

Now let’s fast forward to the day I quit…

My so called “manager” wasn’t there, so I sent her an e-mail. She replied “received” and that was it. Yup, she never acknowledged I quit besides her confirmation of receiving my letter, which made me feel even better about life.

Was she mad or nah? She was so mad she couldn’t even acknowledge the only person who somewhat reported to her was leaving. The person who was doing all the work she needed done. And get this, she conveniently didn’t come my entire last week. Leave it to her to come up with a bull shit reason why, when everyone knows it’s because she’s a coward. Freaking hilarious.

From the moment I resigned I felt like I was on top of the world. I could basically do whatever I wanted. What were they going to do? Fire me? In fact, I was waiting for her to do or say something that would make me leave before my end date. I didn’t need them or the check. I had decided to leave before knowing I had a job, remember. Anyway, I was finally in control and that’s when I realized I was always in control.

I was completely underestimated. I often wonder did she think this company was the end all be all for me? Did she think I was incapable of not only finding another job, but a better job? If she thought that, she learned that day (Kevin Hart voice).

Knowledge is power. And the greatest thing is when people don’t realize that you have it. I know things and people in places she would never imagine. Including contacts she asked my best friend for who works at a company she wanted to do business with. Needless to say, she didn’t get that contact, nor the partnership she wanted with that company. But, that’s none of my business.

kermit

Am I saying I’m better than my former, pathetic “manager”. No. Well, yes. Yes, I am.

But I thank her. I thank her for giving me the opportunity to know what it feels like to quit a job you absolutely hate for something better. She gave me this experience. She gave me this confidence.

It’s the greatest feeling in the world.

Think before you come for the great one. Please. Who’s a real n — -a and who ain’t one? Please.

Somebody stop me…

--

--

Manison
Vers.
Editor for

Advocating, building, exploring, creating.