15. Really?

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

For a long time I accepted having the ball blame thrown at my side.
And no, this is not something I take in with pride.
I guess I didn’t have the energy to engage in that fight,
for I knew I was not going to change anything even though I was right.

How many times did you tell me that I wasn’t ready to have a boyfriend?
I lost count after the first few times ’cause I felt it was something I had to defend.
It didn’t matter how hard I tried to be my best self,
at the end we became incompatible and around you you created a shell.

Have you thought about the times you were indifferent?
About all those times your comments made me feel different?
No wonder why I began to feel insecure and unsure.
It’s like if my joy you tried to censure.

I’m not the one who fears his mother.
I’m not the one who body shamed the other.
I’m not the one who panics on public displays of affection,
But I’m the one who’s not ready for a connection?

Really?

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024. “Really?” is part of my first collection of poems. Toma una taza de café y acompáñame en cada palabra: Verses of Closure.

Siguiente: 16. Mi cumpleaños.

“Really?”
“Really?”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶