A Conversation with Ben, The Heart of Blogging

Sat G
Version 1
Published in
4 min readDec 4, 2023

I turned the tables on the awe-inspiring Ben Howarth. Ben heads up the Version 1 Cloud content creation initiative, “1Insight” to share knowledge of as many of the great minds at Version 1. Usually, it’s Ben enabling other people to produce content. I thought it would be interesting to get an “insight” into Ben.

Can you tell me about your journey into Version 1?

With a Computer Science degree from university, I decided to follow my passions for technology and gaming. My career began at a gaming company, where I engaged in DevOps and web development tasks. I found myself particularly drawn to the DevOps work due to the diverse technologies and challenges it offered. Eager to focus on DevOps as a long-term career, I joined Version 1 as a Senior AWS DevOps Engineer. In my current role, I also have leadership responsibilities and manage a team of several individuals.

How did you become responsible for the 1Insight programme?

I remember it as quite fortuitous circumstances. My predecessor was rotating out just as I had joined, and I jumped at the opportunity. I was looking to get my teeth stuck into anything and everything that was offered to me. I had enjoyed writing when I was younger, so this was a perfect way for me to get back into that passion.

You’re a Senior AWS DevOps Engineer as well. How do you manage to juggle your engineering and your 1Insight duties?

It can be challenging for me, but I make it a point to “stay on top of it”. I have a well-designed productivity system in place that allows me to manage the entire programme. I make it a point to respond to people who are producing content within 24 hours and never want to leave anyone waiting on me.

What do you think people get out of the programme?

Hopefully, confidence. I believe it’s a confidence boost to be able to write ideas down and spend time sculpting coherent thoughts. It can help people limit their Imposter Syndrome. It’s fantastic that we have so many people at Version 1, and most people will always give positive and constructive feedback.

With the increase in the use of GenAI, do you think that thought pieces are going to go away?

No, I think it’s the opposite. GenAI isn’t opinionated, people are. There’s a drive to reduce bias in GenAI, and I’m keen on hearing people’s biases or opinions. GenAI is useful in augmenting content creation such as brainstorming, grammar and spellchecking. You currently can’t beat a human-written article or at least human finesse.

You are never short of content for the programme, why is that?

Short answer: People. We have a huge amount of people at Version 1 that are chomping at the bit to contribute. They all have unique experiences and perspectives which drive the success of the programme

In 5 words, why would you recommend blogging?

Refreshing, passion, pride, community, interest

A final, off-topic question. You are one of the most positive people I have ever met. You find “awe” in everything you do. It’s a type of awe that you lose as you move from childhood to adulthood. Do people ever tell you this? Talk to me about it.

Engaging in activities like 1Insight, talking to diverse people, and immersing myself in different experiences every day, opens my mind. I find myself constantly drawn to new experiences, driven by curiosity. I look up documentaries on various topics on YouTube, and this exposure makes me revisit the so-called mundane aspects of life with a new perspective. I often find myself thinking, “Oh, this is kind of weird, isn’t it?” because everything is a bit weird and cool in its way. I believe life is really interesting and full of surprises.

It’s all about what you make of it so if I decide, “I’m going to be interested in this stuff, I’m going to see how it works,” I end up thinking, “Wow, that’s cool.” I think if you do that more often, it changes your outlook. It’s not about manifesting it in some vague sense, but more about actively pursuing and appreciating the positive aspects.

I’ve had people comment on my positivity, which I really appreciate. Not many have pointed it out in such specific and concise terms, but for those who do, I take it to heart. I like that perception and try to consciously incorporate and reinforce that positivity in my life.

If you ever want to feel energised, I would suggest time spent with Ben. He is welcoming and if you want to reach out to him, you can connect at Ben Howarth and look out for more content at Version 1 Medium.

--

--