Day in the Life: OutSystems Junior Developer

Conor Cadden
Version 1
Published in
3 min readDec 1, 2022

My name is Conor Cadden, I’m currently working as an OutSystems Developer in Version 1’s Early Careers program.

I have been working with the OutSystems team for just over a year now. But my path to arriving here has been quite mixed!

It all started when I studied Zoology at University and ended up on a Computer Biology Masters Course! I then worked with a statistical coding language called ‘R’ and developed an open-source biological data analysis pipeline for identifying targets for cancer treatment. After this, I worked in Office 365 Admin support, before eventually joining Version 1.

Currently, at Version 1, I am working on the Work Based Learning project with the Education Authority. It is a system to register and record the progress of young people on various training schemes and generate the various payments to trainees and training providers are entitled to. You can find out more information about this here.

This is my first project with the team. This project involves a lot of complexity, and sometimes I think I have been thrown in at the deep end! There are so many co-dependent factors that impact the various areas of the application. But with the support of my team, this is becoming an exciting challenge.

What surprised me the most about OutSystems, was the speed with which I could create something usable, and how the visual aspect made such a difference. For me, having the logic flow appear visually makes it far easier to think about and hold on to an idea about what is happening inside a function.

Some key aspects of my day are spending time assisting my colleagues or grads with questions, and getting to see the effects and results of the work I do on the application. I have the opportunity to contribute something meaningful, both directly and indirectly, to a wide range of issues.

Looking forward to my professional career truthfully, I’m not entirely sure of the end goal. But, I want to stay in development, so that would mean either branching out to other languages or advancing in seniority within OutSystems. A lot of what I am interested in is learning about the environment management, and deployment aspect of OutSystems because I currently understand only a basic version of what goes on.

For someone looking to join the OutSystems team, take advantage of the focus shift that OutSystems allows you to make. I am able to ignore some of the nitty-gritty code within actions and view the application visually through the flows better. I think this gives a real advantage as you can think about it as a whole picture, rather than a series of independent processes or actions. Also ask lots of questions, because OutSystems is a young platform, it means everyone is very open to sharing knowledge and features they find useful, that you may need help understanding or being aware of.

You can learn more about the OutSystems and Digital Transformation services that we offer on our website.

About the Author:
Conor Cadden is an Associate Consultant here at Version 1.

--

--