From Stars to Cloud

Thomas Watson
Version 1
Published in
4 min readMar 29, 2022

Can you start a career in IT after your 40s? Casting an eye over the blogs on Medium and elsewhere would give the idea that people think this is impossible, but I suggest that things are changing.

With an employer that is focused on getting ‘good’ people rather than just ‘young’ people, moving to the tech or software industry is very possible. The demand for staff in tech companies is currently outstripping the supply of fresh graduates from universities and the recent shutdown of some other industries because of the pandemic means that good people, of a wide range of ages, are considering their futures and have thought about retraining to work in IT.

Like all career changes, it may not be easy but it certainly is possible.

I’ve recently joined Version 1 as a graduate DevOps engineer, having worked with the great and the good in the entertainment industry for many years. When the live events industry was closed because of the pandemic, I took stock of my life and decided that I didn’t want to be charging around the world in tour buses anymore. I decided that I wanted to move into an area that allowed me to stay closer to home but that offered the same problem solving and creative challenges. I decided to try to move into the IT industry and so began a course of study that led to my current position.

I freely admit that I have been fortunate, first in being able to do a post-graduate course in software engineering and secondly being chosen for the Version 1 Assured Skills Academy. This academy was an intense 8-week course of study focused on industry areas and certifications such as the AZ-900, ISTQB testing etc. and included essential soft skills and teamwork to prepare the students for a career in a tech company. This academy was probably the most demanding course of study I have done in my life, but the results have been worth it. I joined Version 1 three months ago.

Is this move right for everyone? No. If you’ve never had any interest in software or computing in the past, this change may not be for you. I’ve always had a passion for computing and technology and I was able to study in an area that I was already interested in. I have no shortcuts for anyone but I think key factors that can help others when thinking about making the leap to the technology industry are the ones outlined below.

Drive:
You have to want to make this change, not just ‘kinda, it would be alright, I suppose…’ you have to really be determined. Find some education that will focus on an area that you are passionate about and really dig-in and go for it. Study the YouTube videos, get courses on Udemy and elsewhere, read the blogs that focus on the area you want. Spend as much time as possible and make the time count. Look at what the job listings are in your area. Focus on languages, skills and roles employers need. It will take a lot of effort but you can do it with enough drive!

Commitment:
Similarly, if you do decide to go for it, don’t quit halfway there! It is tough. It can be intimidating being in a class with students half your age, but you can do it. The biggest difference between you and the other students is confidence. The other students expect it to be difficult, but they also expect to be able to learn it. If you think you can’t learn it, that will become a self-fulfilling prophecy. Stick with it. Practice lots. Understand that you can and will learn it. Put in all the extra study time you can and use it to help your confidence. You will get to where you want to be and realise you are more capable than you thought.

Lose the ego:
Be humble. Realise that you will be learning for years to come. You are starting at the bottom again and will still have a lot to learn from your fellow students and colleagues. No one is expecting you to be amazing, but they expect you to try your best. Ask as many questions as you can. If you get a job in the tech industry, the pay might not be what you might expect as a ‘software engineer’ (or whichever path you choose) but remember you will almost certainly be joining as a junior in whichever role you are in. The guys earning the big wages have put their time in and have earned the respect of their peers, and if you check your ego now, you will be able to learn from them and make your way up the ranks.

Be honest:
Be honest with yourself and with those around you. If you are struggling or can’t figure something out, speak to someone. Most people are only too keen to help. Get answers sooner rather than later. Problems only get bigger when they are hidden, so make use of the resources around you to get help and answers and find ways forward.

So here I am, three months into my new career. Was it the right move? For me, I can say 100% that it was. You’d have to ask my colleagues how they think I’m doing, but for me, I’m enjoying the challenges and gaining more confidence and satisfaction with every Git commit! There is a saying in the company that ‘Version 1 is a good place to work but not an easy place to work’, and I would apply that to the whole process of changing careers; it has been good but it hasn’t been easy.

For those tempted to make the change, good luck and remember, it is not an easy path, but it most certainly is one that you find rewarding.

Best of luck!

About the Author:

Thomas Watson is an Associate Consultant here at Version 1.

--

--

Thomas Watson
Version 1

Late changer to IT. Working / learning as a DevOps engineer