My Journey as a Mental Health First Aider

Callie Craig
Version 1
Published in
4 min readOct 10, 2023

As it is World Mental Health Day, I want to share a bit about myself, why I became a Mental Health First Aider, and some valuable tips to maintain your mental wellbeing as we enter the darker, colder months of the year!

Name: Callie Craig

Role: Delivery Consultant

When did you join Version 1: May 2022

Tell us a bit about yourself: I enjoy being out and about in the fresh air of the countryside and local beaches, which provide a source of tranquility for me. Maintaining a healthy balance between work and home life, I cherish the time spent with my family and friends, but also have a passion for travelling around the world, exploring different cultures, cuisines, and new experiences.

A couple of years ago, I made the move from bustling London to the serene landscapes of Devon. While I still value the vibrancy of city life during my regular visits to London, the calm and natural peace that Devon offers has had a profoundly positive impact on my mental wellbeing.

Aside from my interests in nature and travel, I also have a passion for sports. Football and Formula 1 particularly (watching, rather than participating) are hugely enjoyable for me — especially while Tottenham remain undefeated!

Why did you become a Mental Health First Aider?

Driven by genuine empathy, I have always been the friend who lends a listening ear and offers advice, and in more recent years, people close to me have struggled with the effects of mental ill-health, making this cause especially close to my heart.

With the common pressures of today’s fast paced working world taking affect on mental wellbeing more than ever (for some), I was delighted to be offered the opportunity to learn how to identify the signs of mental distress, and how to listen and offer guidance effectively within this space, allowing and enabling me to support colleagues, friends, and family alike.

I hope this is just the start of my development working specifically around mental wellbeing, as I love being a part of a community that looks out for one another, and I am committed to making a positive difference wherever I can.

What should I do if I am not sure whether I am struggling with my mental wellbeing?

In case you’re not aware, Version 1 holds a SharePoint space dedicated to mental wellbeing of its employees, which offers multiple support services — Health and Wellbeing — Mental Wellbeing

On top of those resources, Version 1 has a whole team of dedicated Mental Health First Aiders, trained by MHFA England.

I encourage you to contact myself or any other MHFAider if you are experiencing emotional distress or just want a friendly chat in a safe space; we are here to support you.

What tips do you have to maintain mental wellbeing during winter months?

It is thought that seasonal affective disorder (SAD), affects around two million people in the UK and more than twelve million people across northern Europe.

As days grow shorter and temperatures drop, we often confront the challenges of the colder, darker months. While this time can bring cozy moments and holiday cheer, it may also trigger feelings of sadness, stress, and anxiety, impacting our mental health. Here are some tips for maintaining wellbeing during this season.

Prioritising Self-Care: Make time for activities that bring you joy and relaxation, such as reading, mindfulness, or quality time with loved ones. Please remember, self-care is not selfish — it is crucial for mental health.

Connecting with Others: Try to avoid social isolation, this can worsen anxiety and depression. Maintaining social connections or activities with friends or family, even virtually, can be beneficial to our wellbeing.

Staying Active: Regular exercise positively impacts mental wellbeing by releasing mood-lifting endorphins. Even if outdoor exercise is not an option, you could try indoor activities like Yoga or Pilates.

Maintaining a Healthy Diet: A balanced diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains provides key nutrients for mental health. Omega-3 fatty acids found in fish, flaxseed, and walnuts can boost your mood. Sadly, for some (like me), try to reduce caffeine and sugary foods, as these can negatively impact mood and energy levels.

Setting Realistic Goals: Don’t overwhelm yourself with impossible expectations. Realistic goals reduce stress and boost your sense of accomplishment. Split tasks into manageable steps and celebrate your achievements.

Embracing Natural Light: Reduced daylight can have a negative influence your mood and circadian rhythms. Where possible, try to spend time outdoors during daylight hours.

Whilst these steps individually may seem minor, when combined they can contribute to an overall happier, healthier lifestyle. If you would benefit from any further advice, please do visit the SharePoint page, or contact one of the dedicated Mental Health First Aiders.

About the Author:
Callie Craig is a Delivery Consultant and Mental Health First Aider at Version 1.

--

--