Transforming from a mum of two to an aspiring Associate AWS DevOps engineer at Version 1

EJ Shin
Version 1
Published in
2 min readJul 27, 2023
Photo by Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash

After studying computer science years ago my life led me down a different path as a curator, language school owner, and a mum of two children. I thought I could not go back to the tech industry. However, my life took an unexpected turn when my nine-year-old son told me he wants to become a developer.

Recognizing the importance of being a role model, I made the decision to dive back into the tech industry. I saw this as an opportunity not only to fulfil my own dreams but also to empower my child, showing him that his aspirations could become a reality.

I started a software engineering bootcamp in December last year, which allowed me to immerse myself in the latest technologies. As I juggled between the bootcamp and parental responsibilities, I encountered moments of self-doubt and exhaustion time to time. However, I recognized that setbacks were an inherent part of growth, and that perseverance was key to achieving my dreams.

My dedication paid off as I landed a job interview for the 12 weeks of Version 1 Digital Skills Academy where I met 17 other colleagues who are all open and hardworking. I had to devote myself to studying in the early morning and late at night to catch up with the course, and in doing so, I consistently pushed through barriers and experienced a sense of fulfilment. I learned that prioritizing doing what you truly desire is the key to avoiding burnout during that period.

I acquired a comprehensive understanding of DevOps principles and consulting skills and I transformed from a mum of two children to an aspiring Associate AWS DevOps engineer after the academy.

From my personal experience so far, I can confidently say that Version 1 embraces differences and diversity, recognizing them as valuable assets rather than hindrances. The greatest aspect of being a part of Version 1 is the alignment of its core values with my own, which revolve around honesty, humility, drive, and excellence. I am filled with joy and gratitude to have found such a company that resonates with me.

Eunjung Shin is an Associate AWS DevOps Engineer at Version 1.

--

--